Wednesday, February 1, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News Adam Milne withdraws from ODI Series in Pakistan & India

Adam Milne withdraws from ODI Series in Pakistan & India

Adam Milne withdraws from ODI Series in Pakistan & India

With the beginning of the new year, there comes bad news for New Zealand Cricket as fast bowler Adam Milne has withdrawn from New Zealand’s ODI team for the upcoming ODI series against India & Pakistan in January. The ace bowler has taken this decision as he feels that he is not fully prepared for the series. On the other hand, Blair Tickner who is currently in Pakistan for the Test series will join New Zealand’s ODI squad as Blair’s replacement.

Milne suffered from tightness in his hamstring at the end of the home series against India in November 2022 right after the conclusion of the T20 World Cup 2022. He also missed two Ford Trophy fixtures, New Zealand’s domestic 50-over tournament held in December. However, he featured in Wellington’s first two fixtures of the Super Smash tournament but the workload of six ODIs in just 16 days in Pakistan & India is considered too much for Milne who has just recovered from his hamstring tightness.

“Adam was very upfront with us about his concerns around the lack of one-day bowling loading for the upcoming tours,” New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said.

Larsen further said that after having a meaningful talk with Adam Milne they have understood that his preparation for the tour is not sufficient to cope with the demand of featuring in back-to-back fixtures in the ODI series. He also appreciated Milne’s honesty & his attitude of keeping the team ahead of himself.

Blair Tickner is a like-for-like replacement for Adam Milne

Further speaking about the inclusion of Blair Tickner, Larsen said that Tickner’s skills of bowling through the middle & hitting the pitch hard make him a perfect replacement for Adam Milne. He also highlighted the fact that Tickner participating in the ongoing Test Series in Pakistan & getting averse to the conditions in the subcontinent is an added advantage for the team.

New Zealand ended the first Test against Pakistan in a draw & has begun the second Test on January 2 in Karachi. The ODI players will leave on January 4 to feature in the three-match ODI series to be played from January 9 to 13 in Karachi before traveling to India for the ODI series to be played from January 18 to 24. After the conclusion of the ODI series, both the teams will lock horns in a three-match T20I series to be played on January 27, 29 & February 1. The squad for the T20I series is yet to be announced.

New Zealand squad for ODI series in Pakistan and India

Tom Latham (capt – India ODIs), Kane Williamson (capt – only for Pakistan ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only), Blair Tickner.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

Adam Milne withdraws from ODI Series in Pakistan & India
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...