Ashes 2021-2022: Australia named an unchanged squad for remainder of the series


Ashes 2021-2022: Australia named an unchanged squad for remainder of the series

Ashes 2021-2022: Australian national selectors have announced an unchanged 15 man squad for the remaining three test matches in Melbourne, Sydney & Hobart. Newly appointed Captain Pat Cummins & pacer Josh Hazlewood will rejoin the squad on December 23 ahead of the Boxing day test in Melbourne.

Earlier there were mild concerns over the availability of the fast bowling pair Pat Cummins & Josh Hazlewood, who missed the day & night test in Adelaide. Pat Cummins has been ruled out of the second test after being deemed as a close contact of a COVID-19 case at a restaurant, on the eve of the Adelaide Test while pacer Hazlewood had also missed the second test after he sustained a mild strain in the Gabba test & had flown back to Sydney for treatment. Both the cricketers have recovered from their respective illnesses & injuries & are expected to return to the Playing XI for the Melbourne Test.

An unchanged Australia squad for the remaining of the Ashes series is a sheer reflection of Australia’s dominant position in the ongoing series. They are just four wickets away from winning the second test & taking a massive 2-0 lead in the crucial Ashes 2021-2022 series. The only worry for the hosts is the diminishing form of the opener Marcus Harris who has scored only 38 runs from four innings. He is likely to retain his position in the Playing XI for the Melbourne test despite his poor form. Meanwhile, Usman Khwaja is waiting in the wings despite being included in the squad for the No 5 spot which has now been locked down by Travis Head.

Ashes 2021-2022 Australia Squad for the remainder of the tests: 

Pat Cummins (c), Marcus Harris, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Jhye Richardson, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson

December 8-12The Gabba, Brisbane5.30 am IST
December 16-20Adelaide Oval, Adelaide9.20 am IST
December 26-30Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne5 am IST
January 5-9, 2022Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney5 am IST
January 14-18, 2022Bellerive Oval, Hobart8 am IST

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!