AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI: Australia wins by 113 runs to clinch the Series 2-0


AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI: Australia wins by 113 runs to clinch the Series 2-0

AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI: Australia overpowered New Zealand to register a thrilling 113-run win in the second of the three-match ODI series. With this, Australia seized the series by 2-0 by displaying an exemplary all-round performance in the series.

Winning the toss at the Cazalys Stadium, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson made an unprecedented decision to bowl first. Batting first, Australia collapsed to a mere total of 195 runs after a thunderous New Zealand pace attack.

Steve Smith laid the foundation of Australia’s Win

Australia lost quick wickets in the start as David Warner (5), Aaron Finch (0), Marnus Labuschagne (5) and Marus Stoinis (0) failed to make any noteworthy contribution. Wicketkeeper Alex Carey (12) stood defensive alongside Steve Smith (61) who was the torch-bearer of Australia’s innings. 

Steve Smith recorded a vital partnership alongside Glenn Maxwell (25) for the fifth wicket. In the end, tailenders Mitchell Starc (38), Adam Zampa (16), and Josh Hazelwood (23) played vital knocks to take Australia near the 200-run mark.

For New Zealand, Trent Boult was the most astonishing bowler who scalped 4 wickets for 38 runs. Matt Henry (3/33) provided crucial support to Boult whereas Tim Southee (1/39) and Mitchell Santner (1/22) chipped in a wicket apiece.

Kiwi batters succumbed in front of Australia’s fierce pace attack

Chasing a decent total of 196 runs, New Zealand witnessed a major batting order collapse as none of the batsmen was able to cross the 20-run mark. Kane Williamson (58 runs off 17 balls) and Mitchell Santner (16 off 29 balls) were the only prominent run-getters. As a result, New Zealand was wrapped up for a meager 82 runs thereby handing a massive 113-run win to the Australian team.

Credit goes to the stupendous bowling performance by the Australian bowlers who got through the defenses of Kiwi batsmen. Adam Zampa was the pick of the bowlers as he grabbed another five-wicket haul and registered a match-winning figure of 5/35.

Mitchell Starc (2/12) and Sean Abbott (2/1) scaled a couple of wickets each whereas Marcus Stoinis (1/14) got a wicket apiece. With this gleaming win, Australia has retained the prestigious Chappell Hadley Trophy. The third and final ODI between Australia and New Zealand will take place on Saturday.

AUS vs NZ 2nd ODI: Brief Scores

Australia 195/9 (Steve Smith 61; Trent Boult 4-38, Matt Henry 3-33) beat New Zealand 82 in 33 overs (Adam Zampa 5-35, Sean Abbott 1-2) by 113 runs.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!