AUS vs SL 2022: Sri Lanka announces an 18 member squad for their T20I series


AUS vs SL 2022: Sri Lanka announces an 18 member squad for their T20I series

AUS vs SL 2022: SLC announces an 18-member squad for their upcoming home T20I series against Australia. Top-order batter Nuwanidu Fernando, and right-arm seamer Matheesha Pathirana have made a cut into the T20I squad on the back of their impressive overseas performances. Nuwanindu has displayed power-pack performances on their England tour while Pathirana nailed it in the IPL 2022.

However, the major absentees from the T20I squad are allrounder Dhananajaya de Silva, fast bowler Lahiru Kumara, wicketkeeper batter Dinesh Chandimal and Niroshand Dickwella. Kusal Mendis will don the wicket-keeping gloves in the absence of Dinesh Chandima.

The T20I squad also witness the return of Kasun Rajitha and left-arm wrist-spinner Lakshan Sandakan. While Avishka Fernando and Kusal Perera remain unavailable for the series due to their injury. Nuwanidu receives his maiden call-up to the squad on the back of his stellar unbeaten 126 off 67 balls which he made for Sri Lanka’s Development XI, against Gloucestershire.

Meanwhile, Pathirana who imitates Malinga’s bowling action had impressed one & all in his outing for CSK claiming 2 for 24 in one match, and 0 for 28 (in 3.4 overs) in the other. Pathirana is one of the two-seam bowling all-rounders in the Sri Lankan squad. Nuwan Thusara will join the pace department accompanying  Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Madushanka, and Rajitha, who recently made a successful return from injury in the Test format.

The spin department will be led by their star spinners Wanindu Hasaranga and Maheesh Theekshana, who both had successful stints at the IPL 2022. Hasaranga with 26 wickets at an economy of 7.54 was just one wicket behind claiming the purple cap. Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, and Sandakan are the other options in the spin department.

On batting front,  Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Nuwanidu Fernando are all in the running for top order spots, while Dasun Shanaka, Madushanka, and Karunaratne are the middle order options. The three-match T20I series against Australia will begin on June 7, at Khettarama (Colombo).

AUS vs SL 2022: Sri Lanka squad

Dasun Shanaka (capt.), Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan

 Standby: Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here