Australia’s 2022-2023 home Summer to kick-start in late August

Australia’s 2022-2023 home Summer to kick-start in late August
DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES – MARCH 31: Australia celebrate winning the One Day International series between Pakistan and Australia at Dubai International Stadium on March 31, 2019 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images)

The Australia Men’s team have a busy 2022-2023 home season ahead of them, with the COVID-19 postponed series surrounding an already busy International Calendar featuring a T20 World Cup.

Let’s have a Glance at Australia’s 2022-2023 Home Summer:

Australia is all set to host West Indies for two Tests & South Africa for three Tests in a busy summer season later this year. Their home Test season will begin with their two-match Test series against West Indies. The first Test of the series will be played in Perth & the second Test which is a pink ball Test will be played in Adelaide. On the other hand, the Test series against South Africa will kick off at the Gabba before playing the much anticipated Boxing Day Test & New Year Test.

Meanwhile, Australia will host Zimbabwe, New Zealand, West Indies, & England for limited-overs series before the T20 World Cup 2022. Their white-ball season will begin with 3 ODI series against Zimbabwe followed by three ODIs agaisnt New Zealand & two T20Is against West Indies. Later they will play three T20Is and three ODIs against England which sandwich the T20 World Cup. Their Test summer season kicks off after the third ODI against England.

The dates for the ODI series against South Africa which will fall in January remain unconfirmed as Cricket South Africa have requested to reconsider the dates but Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said that they have been “unable to find alternative dates as yet.”

“We are hosting a record six touring nations to Australia this season, in addition to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It promises to be an incredible summer,” added Hockley.

“We are delighted that Test cricket is coming back to Perth Stadium for the first Test of the summer versus the West Indies, after almost three years without international cricket, and we look forward to hosting South Africa over Boxing Day and New Year for the first time since 2008.

“After two years of being impacted by the pandemic, the 2022-23 home summer will be an especially busy one for the Australian men’s team as we honor our commitments to the ICC’s Future Tours Program. This provides important opportunities to progress towards the ICC World Test Championship Final qualification as well as a build-up for the ICC Men’s One-Day World Cup in India in 2023.

Meanwhile, the Australia Women’s team will host Pakistan for three ODIs & three T20Is in January.

Australia’s 2022-2023 Home Summer Schedule:

Men’s ODI Series v Zimbabwe

August 28: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

August 31: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

September 3: Riverway Stadium, Townsville

Men’s ODI Series v New Zealand

September 6: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

September 8: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

September 11: Cazalys Stadium, Cairns (D/N)

Men’s T20I Series v West Indies

October 5: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

October 7: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Men’s T20I Series v England

October 9: The Gabba, Brisbane

October 12: Manuka Oval, Canberra

October 14: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Men’s ICC T20 World Cup

October 16 – November 13

Men’s ODI Series v England

November 17: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

November 19: SCG, Sydney (D/N)

November 22: MCG, Melbourne (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v West Indies

November 30 – December 4: Perth Stadium, Perth

December 8 – December 12: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (D/N)

Men’s Test Series v South Africa

December 17 – December 21: The Gabba, Brisbane

December 26 – December 30: MCG, Melbourne

January 4 – January 8: SCG, Sydney

Men’s ODI Series v South Africa (Dates subject to confirmation)

January 12: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

January 14: SCG, Sydney

January 17: Perth Stadium, Perth

Women’s ODI Series v Pakistan

January 16: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

January 18: Allan Border Field, Brisbane

January 21: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Women’s T20I Series v Pakistan

January 24: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

January 27: Manuka Oval, Canberra

January 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!