Tuesday, November 29, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for Upcoming Edition

BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for Upcoming Edition

BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for Upcoming Edition

Sydney Thunder has signed Afghanistan’s left-arm pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi as a replacement overseas player for the BBL 2022-23.

Faqrooqi will join Thunder’s squad as a replacement player for England’s David Willey who pulled out of the tournament after being signed as a platinum player in the inaugural BBL draft for overseas players held in August. He was an integral part of Afghanistan’s squad in the T20 World Cup 2022 where he returned with figures of 1 for 24 against England & 2 for 29 against Australia conceding runs at 6.52 runs per over across the three fixtures he played.

Sydney Thunder General manager, Andrew Gilchrist said that the club is delighted to have the prolific pacer in their squad after their main Willey had withdrawn from the league.

“Fazalhaq Farooqi is an emerging talent,” Gilchrist said. “He joins Thunder in great form after playing exceptional cricket in the World T20 Cup and the Asia Cup tournament.

“While it was very disappointing to have lost David Willey, it has opened the door for Farooqi to further enhance his reputation and growing status in world cricket.”

Afghanistan players have enjoyed a great stint in the Big Bash League over the years. While Rashid Khan has become the face of Adelaide Strikers over the years, other renowned names such as Zahir Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman & Qais Ahmed have left their impression in the league. So it’s quite obvious that Fazalhaq Farooqi will try to become a household name in the Sydney Thunder squad by proving his mettle in the BBL 2022-23. Meanwhile, Sydney Thunder will add one more overseas replacement to their squad later when Alex Hales departs for the league.

BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder squad

Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Ben Cutting, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Alex Hales, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha, Tanveer Sangha, David Warner.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

BBL 2022-23: Sydney Thunder signs Fazalhaq Farooqi for Upcoming Edition
Sarah Shaikhhttps://cricketflicker.com/
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

ILT20: Dubai Capitals to face Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in Opening Clash

The lavish stadiums of UAE are set, and players are geared up as the much-awaited ILT20 is all set to kickstart on January 13,...

AUS vs WI 2022: Pat Cummins names Playing XI for first Test

AUS vs WI 2022: Australia’s Captain Pat Cummins has announced the Playing XI for their first Test against West Indies beginning in Perth on...

SA20: Quinton De Kock named Durban Super Giants Captain

The inaugural edition of the CSA’s SA20 League is all set to commence in January 2023 & all the franchisees are trying their best...

BBL 2022-23: Usman Qadir signs a deal with Sydney Thunder

In an attempt to strengthen the bowling attack BBL’s Sydney Thunder franchise has signed Pakistan’s Legspinner Usman Qadir for the BBL 2022-23. He will...