BCCI announces Schedule for India’s Domestic Cricket 2022-23 Season


BCCI announces Schedule for India's Domestic Cricket 2022-23 Season

The BCCI on Monday announced the schedule for India’s Domestic Cricket 2022-23 season. As per the schedule, around 1500 domestic matches will be played during the 2022-23 season, commencing from the first week of September 2022 & will continue till mid of march 2023.

India’s Domestic Cricket 2022-23 season will begin with the prestigious Duleep Trophy followed by Irani Cup 2022. The Duleep Trophy will be played from 8th September-25th September between six zones i.e North, South, Central, West, East, and Northeast on a knockout basis.

After the conclusion of the Duleep Trophy & Irani Cup, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy & Vijay Hazare Trophy will be conducted. Both the prestigious domestic white ball tournaments will be played between 38 teams divided into three groups of 8 teams & two groups comprising 7 teams.

The Ranji Trophy will have two categories, Lite Group & Elite Group. The Elite group will comprise 32 teams & will have four groups of eight teams each playing seven matches in the league stage in a home & away format. The top two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the quarterfinals.

While Plate Group comprises six teams playing 15 league stage matches. The top four teams out of six will march into the semi-finals while the remaining two will play against each other for the 5th/6th place.

Both the Elite & Plate Group matches will begin on 13th December with the Plate League concluding on 29th January and the Elite group finishing on 20th February.

India Women’s Domestic Cricket 2022-23 Season Schedule

With the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to take place in South Africa on February 23, India’s Women’s domestic calendar will begin with the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy starting on October 11 and concluding on 5th November. It will be followed by the senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and T20 Challenger.

The One-Day or 50-over format will begin with the Senior Women’s One-Day Trophy & the inter-zonal one-day tournament.

Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 tournament & One Day have been re-introduced this season by the BCCI. Also what comes as a path-breaking decision by the BCCI is the introduction of a one-day tournament for girls in domestic cricket at the U-16 level. This tournament will help the girls to get exposure to competitive cricket at a young age & make a smooth transition to the U-19 level.

With the inaugural edition of the ICC U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup slated to be played in January 2023 in South Africa, the BCCI has also scheduled the women’s U19 T20 Trophy and Women’s U19 T20 Challenger from 1st October to 7th November.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!