Friday, December 2, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News Chanderpaul, Charlotte & Abdul Qadir inducted into ICC hall of Fame

Chanderpaul, Charlotte & Abdul Qadir inducted into ICC hall of Fame

Chanderpaul, Charlotte & Abdul Qadir inducted into ICC hall of Fame

Charlotte Edwards, Shivnarine Chanderpaul & Abdul Qadir have been inducted in the ICC’s Hall of Fame. They will be honored ahead of the first semi-final of the T20 World Cup at the SCG.

A Glimpse of Shivnarine Chanderpaul Achievements

Chanderpaul who is the 107th inductee on the ICC Hall of Frame had a 21-year illustrious career with West Indies Cricket after making his debut in 1994. His unorthodox batting style & patience on the crease became his signature on the field. He became an integral part of the West Indies middle order until he featured in the last fixture in 2015. He announced his retirement in 2016 & finished his career with 20,988 runs in his kitty, 41 tons & 125 half-centuries across formats.

“It’s an amazing honor to follow the footsteps of many legends and so many other great cricketers of the past,” Chanderpaul said in an ICC release. “I’m grateful for the recognition and would like to enjoy the moment with family, friends, and most importantly the West Indies cricket fans and fans around the world who passionately supported me throughout my career.”

Charlotte Edwards Array of achievements

The No 108 inductee in the ICC Hall of Fame, Charlotte Edwards represented England from the age of 16 for two decades. By the time she hung her boots from International Cricket, she had captained the team in an ODI & t20 World Cup title. Her 5992 runs in Women’s ODIs are the second most highest score in Women’s Cricket. Remarkably in 2021, the Women’s Domestic T20 Tournament in England was named after Edwards’s name to pay her tribute. And the following year Edwards won the Trophy named after herself after coaching Southern Vipers to the title.

“It’s a massive honor to be included in the ICC Hall of Fame alongside the very illustrious company that has already been inducted,” Edwards said. “I’d like to thank and share this moment with my family and friends, my teammates, and all of the coaches that have supported me throughout.”

A glimpse of Abdul Qadir’s achievements

Coming to Qadir, the ace leg-spinner of Pakistan Cricket who died at the age of 63 in 2019 was the 109th inductee into the ICC Hall of fame. Qadir has scalped 236 Test wickets in 67 Matches & his figures of 9 for 56 against England in 1987 remains one of the best figures in the Test format till date. Qadir had last appeared for Pakistan in 1993 before calling time on his career.

“On behalf of the family, I want to say thank you very much to the ICC for nominating my father for induction into the Hall of Fame,” Usman, Abdul Qadir’s son, said. “It is a very big honor for the family to hear of this news, we see it as a huge achievement, and one that my father would be very proud of if he was still with us today.”

In November 2021, Janette Brittin, Mahela Jayawardene & Shaun Pullock were inducted. On the other hand, ten other players such as Bob Willis, Vinoo Mankad, Learie Constantine, and Andy Flower are those who were inducted into the list before the WTC final in 2021.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

Chanderpaul, Charlotte & Abdul Qadir inducted into ICC hall of Fame
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England registers a record breaking 506 runs on Day 1

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England's Cricket team scripted history by becoming the first team in the history of World Cricket to register more...

ILT20: Sharjah Warriors appoints Moeen Ali as their Captain

England’s all-rounder Moeen Ali has been appointed as the Captain of the Sharjah Warriors franchise for the inaugural edition of ILT20 beginning in January...

BCCI announces appointment of three-member CAC

The BCCI on Thursday appointed a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) including former India Cricketers Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Nail & Jatin Paranjpe. The elite...

Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022: Rashid Khan joins New York Strikers

One of the best leg-spinners in World Cricket, Rashid Khan is all set to rock the field in the Sixth edition of the Abu...