Thursday, February 2, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News Chetan Sharma to continue as Chairman of New Selection Committee

Chetan Sharma to continue as Chairman of New Selection Committee

Chetan Sharma to continue as Chairman of New Selection Committee

The BCCI on Saturday has named members for the new selection committee on the recommendations made by the Cricket Advisory Committee. The newly formed committee will have Chetan Sharma, Subroto Banerjee, Sridharan Sharath, Salil Ankola & Shiv Sundar das on board. What comes as a surprise is a decision of retaining Chetan Sharma as the chairman of the selection committee.

The Cricket Advisory Committee comprising Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Naik & Jatin Paranjape went through 600 applications during the process & in the end finalized the names mentioned above.

The BCCI confirmed the development through an official statement stating that CAC comprising Sulakshana Naik, Mr. Jatin Paranjape & Mr. Ashok Malhotra conducted an extensive process to shortlist the members of the All India Senior Selection Committee. The BCCI received around 600 applications for the five positions issued on BCCI’s website. After careful consideration, the CAC has shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on personal interviews, the committee has selected the above-mentioned candidates for the senior men’s national selection committee.

Chetan Sharma who has been sacked from the position following India’s humiliating t20 World Cup 2022 defeat had re-applied for the position along with his former colleague Harvinder Singh. Maninder Singh, Venkatesh Prasad, Sameer Dighe & Nayan Mongia were other names who had applied for the position of national selector.

A Glimpse of New Selection Committee Members Career Stints

Ankola has been serving as the Chief of Mumbai’s Selection Committee since December 17, 2020, on the other hand, S Sharath has been the chairman of the Junior Selection Committee since September 17, 2021. The currently appointed members of the selection committee have experience of playing 48 Tests & 95 ODIs. However, except Das, none of the members has ever played any T20I match.

After India’s humiliating exit from the T20 World Cup 2022, the BCCI sacked the entire committee and invited fresh applications for the position. But even after stepping down from their respective positions the old committee comprising Sharma, Harvinder, Sunil Joshi and Debasis Mohanty (Abey Kuruvilla quit as a selector in February 2022) continued the task of selecting Indian teams. They named the teams for the white-ball tour of New Zealand, ODI & Test tour against Bangladesh & ongoing home white-ball series against Sri Lanka.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

Chetan Sharma to continue as Chairman of New Selection Committee
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...