ZIM vs AFG 2022: Zimbabwe announces 16-man Squad for T20I series


ZIM vs AFG 2022: Zimbabwe announces 16-man Squad for their upcoming T20I series

ZIM vs AFG 2022: Zimbabwe have announced a 16-man squad for their upcoming T20I series against Asian Giant Afghanistan. What comes as a surprise for the fans is the exclusion of seven players from the T20I squad who were a part of the contingent who played against Namibia.

The players who miss out on the T20I squad are Tanaka Chivanga, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Ernest Masuku, Richmond Mutumbami, Tony Munyonga, and Brandon Mavuta. In their place, the selectors have selected Clive Madande, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, and Ainsley Ndlovu. These four were a part of Zimbabwe’s recently concluded ODI series against Afghanistan, but it was only Muzarabani and Myers who got selected for the Afghanistan T20I series.

While Madande is an uncapped player who accompanied them on their tour of Nepal last month with the Zimbabwe A squad, Ndlovu has played international cricket in all three formats but hasn’t represented Zimbabwe since February 2020. His last T20I was in September 2019 which was a tri-series involving Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Muzarbani Blessing’s last T20I came in September 2021 after which he played in the PSL for Multan Sultans & was selected as a net bowler by Lucknow Super Giants in the recent IPL 2022. Blessing is Zimbabwe’s highest wicket-taker in the recent ODIs bagging seven wickets from three matches.

Another major move taken by the Zimbabwe management is including opening batter Tadiwanashe Marumani for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan. The 20-year-old youngster has last featured for Zimbabwe in September 2021 in a T20I against Scotland. The decision was taken to strengthen their top order after Zimbabwe failed to stitch up a strong opening stand in any of the three ODIs against Afghanistan. As a result, Afghanistan ended the ODI series by defeating the African nation by a 3-0 score.

Zimbabwe has announced a mix of fresh & experienced players in order to bounce back & clinch the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan. The three-match T20I series will be played in Harare on June 11, 12, and 14.

ZIM vs AFG 2022: T20I squad:

Craig Ervine (capt), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessely Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Ainsley Ndlovu, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here