BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh names Anamul Haque as Yasir’s replacement for second Test


BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh names Anamul Haque as Yasir’s replacement for second Test

BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh have named Anamul Haque in the Test squad as Yasir Ali’s replacement for the second Test against West Indies. He will also serve as a backup option for Bangladesh’s white-ball series.

Bangladesh Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin confirmed the news to the media on Wednesday by saying, ”We have decided to send Anamul as a back-up batsman considering Yasir has been ruled out from the (Test) series due to injury.”

”Anamul is scoring runs consistently at domestic cricket and as a result, we have included him in the white-ball series following the Test matches,” he added to his statement.

Earlier on Wednesday, Yasir Ali was ruled out of the Test series due to a back injury. It was reported that Yasir had sustained an injury while batting at No 12 during the first day of Bangladesh’s three-day practice match against the CWI President’s XI on June 10. He was retired hurt immediately after complaining of pain.

Talking about Anamul Haque, he hasn’t played for Bangladesh in any format since 2019. However, he made a comeback to the National team after creating a world record for aggregating the most number of runs (1042 runs in the Dhaka Premier League) in a List A tournament. The previous record was held by Tom Moody, who had accumulated 971 runs in 1991.

Haque’s inclusion into the squad will act as a boost for the Bangaldesh squad who will miss the services of Yasir Ali & Mushfiqur Rahim who opted out of the series to perform Hajj. Nurul Hassan & Mosaddek Hossain has been added to Bangladesh’s line-up to add depth to their depleted squad.

Bangladesh is all set to lock horns with West Indies in a two-match Test series commencing on June 16. The second Test of the series will be played on June 24 in St Lucia.

BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh updated Test squad

Mominul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mosaddek Hossain, Ebadot Hossain, Shohidul Islam, Rezaur Rahman Raja

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here