BAN vs WI 2022: Yasir Ali ruled out of West Indies Tests due to a back Injury


BAN vs WI 2022: Yasir Ali ruled out of West Indies Tests due to a back Injury

BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh team suffered a major setback ahead of their upcoming two-match Test series against the West Indies as their star player Yasir Ali was ruled out of the series after sustaining a back injury. Yasir is suffering from sharp back pain on the Lumber Spine according to the team’s physio Bayjedul Islam.

“Recovery from such injuries takes about two to three weeks time. Therefore, he will not be available for the Test series,” Islam said.

Yasir had sustained an injury while batting at No 12 during the first day of Bangladesh’s three-day practice match against the CWI President’s XI on June 10. He was retired hurt immediately after complaining of pain.

Yasir has so far played five Tests, scoring 196 runs at an average of 24.50. He was seen in sublime touch, filling in the place of Shakib-Al-Hasan during the Bangaldesh tour of New Zealand & South Africa earlier this year. However, Shakib’s return for the Sri Lanka series kept Yasir out of the squad.

He was also going to fill in the role of Mushfiqur Rahim in the upcoming West Indies Test series after the latter opted out to perform Hajj. But now after sustaining an injury Yasir will not feature in Bangladesh’s two-match Test series against the Windies. The National team Selectors haven’t named any replacement for Yasir which has further depleted their line-up.

Nurul Hasan who has been added to the Test squad on the back of his impressive performances in the domestic cricket looks the only viable option to bat at No.5 as Mosaddek Hossain who has been named in all the three squads for their West Indies series couldn’t create a mark in the Sri Lanka series held last month.

Bangladesh is all set to lock horns with West Indies in a two-match Test series commencing on June 16. The second Test of the series will be played on June 24 in St Lucia.

BAN vs WI 2022: Bangladesh Test squad

Mominul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das (wk), Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Nurul Hasan (wk), Mosaddek Hossain, Ebadot Hossain, Shohidul Islam, Rezaur Rahman Raja

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here