Cricket Ireland announces squad for the limited-overs series against South Africa

Ireland Vs South Africa

Cricket Ireland on Wednesday announced a 15 player squad for the limited overs series against South Africa starting from next month.

“The World Cup Super League series against South Africa represents our first such fixtures on home soil, and while a tough challenge waits, we are confident the squad we have selected provides Graham Ford and Andrew Balbirnie with plenty of options,” selector Andrew White said. “The sustained improvement of George Dockrell’s batting has provided us solidity and experience in the middle order, while it has been great to see our bowling strike force performing well in recent IP50 matches and at the two recent T20 Festivals”, Andrew White, chairman of National men’s selectors committee said in an official release.

Meanwhile, Curtis Campher who underwent ankle surgery earlier in may has fully recovered & has been included in the 15 player squad for Ireland’s ODI series against South Africa. Speaking about Curtis’s return, Andrew said, “We’re delighted to welcome back Curtis Campher from injury – I know he’s raring to go after over a month out of the game.”

“With the recent ODI retirement of Kevin O Brien the value of having the experience of William Portfield in the team is as crucial as ever, & his recent form at Interprovincial level has demonstrated that he is still hungry to succeed”, Andrew added.

Also read, World Social Media Day: Bhuvneshwar Kumar shares a heartwarming message for MS Dhoni

While uncapped players like William McClintock, Benjamin White, and Neil Rock have been named in the T20I side. Shane Getkate who has last played a T20I in the month of March is also included in the team. “Shane Getkate returns to the squad after impressive displays this season. Not many players work harder at their game and he is a natural power-hitter – something that we need more of at this level. It is a great credit to Shane that he has responded so well to the challenge that the coaching staff set him regarding his batting.”

Andrew further highlighted that the players included in the T20I squad have to showcase their expertise on the field & the best of them would get a chance to play for the National Team in the T20 World Cup which will take place later this year.   

Ireland ODI squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Kennedy, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Graeme McCarter, Barry McCarthy, William Porterfield, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

T20I squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (captain), Mark Adair, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, William McClintock, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

For ball by ball commentary, Live Scores, Full Match Schedules, click here

Get all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here