ECB announces 17 Player Squad for One-off Test against India

England Women's team for test match against India

Recently on Tuesday, ECB have announced a 17 player squad for the one-off test against India starting from June 16.

Central Sparks pacer Emily Arlott, who scalped a hat-trick in the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy received her maiden International call-up in England Women’s test squad. Whereas South East Star Skipper Tash Farrant is also included in the squad.

This 17 player squad will be further reduced prior to the beginning of the first test. So that the non-selected players could feature in the next fixture of the ongoing Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Trophy. Further, the England Women’s team has announced that Nat Sciver will be the Vice-Captain for the Women’s squad across all forms of International Cricket

We want to give players as much chance as possible to play Cricket: Head Coach Lisa Keightley

“It’s been hard to pick a squad given the balance of needing cover in a COVID world while wanting to give players as much chance as possible to play cricket,” Head Coach Lisa Keightley said.

“We want players to have opportunities out in the middle so we’re looking to reduce our numbers slightly ahead of the Test to give the non-selected players that chance,” she added.

“I’m really excited by the summer ahead. We’ve been working really hard across the last 10 weeks, India is a strong side and it’s the beginning of a two-year journey for us that takes in two ICC World Cups, an Ashes, and the Commonwealth Games,” she further said.

The Indian women’s team will face England women’s team in a one-off test, followed by three ODIs & three T20Is. The two teams will first face each other in a four-day test match starting from June 16. Then both the teams will lock horns in three-match ODIs starting from June 27 with the matches slated to be played at Bristol, Taunton & Worcester.

Finally, the two teams will come into a face-off in a three-match T20Is starting from July 9. The three T20Is will be played at Northampton, Hove & Chelmsford. The third T20I match which was scheduled to be played on July 15 will now be played one day before on July 14 in Chelmsford.

England Women squad for a Test match against India Women:

Heather Knight (c), Emily Arlott, Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver (VC), Anya Shrubsole, Mady Villiers, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield-Hill.

For all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here