ENG v PAK: ECB announces 16-man squad for the T20I series against Pakistan

ENG vs PAK T20I Series

ENG v PAK: The ECB on Wednesday announced the 16-man squad for the T20I series against Pakistan. The highlight of the squad is the return of Eoin Morgan as a captain. He is one of the nine players included in the squad after completing their mandatory period of self-isolation following the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Ben Stokes who has led the England team during the ODI series has been dropped out of the T20 squad. Players such as Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, and Moeen Ali & Jos Buttler make a return in the squad. Saqib Mahmood who was awarded as the player of the series in the recently concluded Pakistan ODIs after scalping nine wickets at 13.66 in three matches was also included in the squad along with Lewis Gregory, Dawid Malan, & Matt Parkinson. Paul Collingwood will head the team as head coach while Chris Silverwood will leave for a break.

The ECB also confirmed through an Official statement that all the 16 players & support staff returned negative COVID-19 tests. And thus the players are eligible to play in the T20I series which will commence at Trent Bridge on July 16.

Speaking about the selection, Silverwood said in a release, We have selected a T20 squad that sees the return of many of our most experienced players after the completion of their mandatory isolation period. We have rewarded some of the players involved in the ODI series win with the selection which allows us to manage multi-format players as we prepare for the much-anticipated test series against India”.

Silverwood also praised Ben Stokes & the players for their efforts over the last week & the counties for extending their support in getting this series on”. The T20I series will start at Trent Bridge on July 16 & will conclude at Old Trafford on July 20

ENG v PAK T20I Squad:

Eoin Morgan(C), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey.

Catch up with the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here