ENG vs SA: England announces squads for SA White Ball Series


ENG vs SA: England announces squads for SA White Ball Series

ENG vs SA: England’s test captain Ben Stokes has been rested for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa that is scheduled to take place later this month. The England Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the complete squad for the South Africa ODI and T-20 series that will kickstart from next week.

Ben Stokes was also not included in the T-20 series against India that eventually the hosts lost. Stokes led England to a stunning victory in the rescheduled Test against India and the three-match test series against New Zealand.

While Stokes will miss the T-20 series against South Africa, he is also going to miss the upcoming and the second edition of the Hundred. Stokes plays for the  Northern Superchargers and is an important element of the team.

With Stokes getting assigned the supreme responsibility of the Test team, the ECB selection committee took the decision to rest him for the Hundred 2022 with the purview to manage the workload of the astonishing all-rounder. Frontline leg-spinner Adil Rashid has been included in the ODI as well as the T-20 series. Rashid had opted out of the India series as he traveled to Mecca for pilgrimage. 

Another surprise inclusion in the ODI squad is Matthew Potts who received a maiden call-up in the South Africa squad for the ODI series. Potts performed brilliantly in the New Zealand and Indian Test series by scalping 18 wickets at 26.72. Jonny Bairstow who wasn’t provided an opportunity in the Indian T-20 series has been included in the squad for the Proteas T-20 series.

Interestingly, destructive paceman Tymal Mills has been left out of the T-20 squad after a misery in the Indian T-20 series. He bowled three expensive overs in the only T20I he played against India & has been struggling from a toe injury. However, he hopes to return for the Hundred 2022. Meanwhile, Harry Brooks, who failed to make an impact in the ongoing ODI series against India has also been excluded from the series.

South Africa’s tour of England starts with three-match ODI series on July 19. They will be followed by three T20Is and then an equal number of Tests running until September 12.

ODI squad: 

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Brydon Carse, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey

T20I squad:

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey

ENG vs SA ODI Schedule

1st ODI- Tuesday, July 19

2nd ODI-  Friday, July 22

3rd ODI- Sunday, July 24

ENG vs SA T20I Series

1st T-20: Wednesday, July 27

2nd T-20: Thursday, July 28

3rd T-20: Saturday, July 31

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here