IND vs ENG: BCCI Secretary supports team India’s request to fly in Surya & Shaw for upcoming test series


IND vs ENG: The BCCI Secretary Jay Shetty has supported team management’s request of providing replacements for injured players & thus Prithvi Shaw & Suryakumar will join the Indian test squad in England for the five-match test series. There were several speculations on whether there will be a change of plan as the duo were isolated on being the close contacts of Krunal Pandya in Colombo ahead of the second T20I of the T20I series.

Speaking to ANI the sources in the know of developments said that the BCCI officials discussed the situation after Suryakumar & Shaw were isolated, but the BCCI Secretary had supported Virat Kohli & Ravi Shastri’s request of sending the duo to the UK for the test series against England.

“There were discussions if there needs to be a change in the plan after the duo had to be isolated as close contacts of Krunal Pandya. But with the reports coming in negative for COVID-19, the secretary felt it was best to back the request of the team management and send them to the UK,” the source said.

The BCCI had announced on July 26 that the All India Selection Committee has named Prithvi Shaw & Suraykumar Yadav as replacements for injured players Washington Sundar, Shubman Gill & Avesh Khan. The trio has been ruled out of the England test series due to their injuries.

According to the release, Sundar had taken an injection on his right-hand bowling finger during the three-day practice match against County Select XI. But the recovery will take a long period & he is not fit for bowling in the Test series against England. Thus he has been ruled out of the England tour.

Whereas Avesh Khan suffered an injury on his left thumb on Day 1 of their warm-up match. He was immediately taken for scans & a fracture was confirmed. A specialist doctor was consulted for the management of his injury. He was also ruled out of the India tour of England. Opening batsman Shubman Gill had sustained a stress reaction on his left lower leg (shin) during the WTC Final & thus he was also ruled out of the series. India will come into a face-off with England in five-match test series starting from August 4 at Trent Bridge.

India’s squad: 

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav.

Standby players: Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Catch up with the IND vs ENG cricket news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here