IND vs NZ Tests: KL Rahul ruled out of the test, Suryakumar named as his Replacement


IND vs NZ Tests: KL Rahul ruled out of the test, Suryakumar named as his replacement

IND vs NZ Tests: Opener KL Rahul has been ruled out of the upcoming two-match Test series due to an injury, confirmed BCCI through an official statement. The board has named Suryakumar Yadav as his replacement in the Test squad for the New Zealand test series. Suryakumar Yadav was the late addition to the test squad as the board has included Suryakumar Yadav just two days ahead of the first Test in Kanpur.

KL Rahul has sustained a muscle strain on his left thigh & will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA in order to prepare for the long tour of South Africa that begins next month.

“Team India batsman Mr. KL Rahul has sustained a muscle strain on his left thigh and has been ruled out of the upcoming 2-match Paytm Test series against New Zealand. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mr. Suryakumar Yadav as KL Rahul’s replacement,” a BCCI statement read.

Rahul was missing from the Indian team’s practice session, attended by almost all the players on Tuesday at the Green Park stadium. Shubman Gill was seen opening the batting along with Mayank Agarwal during the team’s net session on Tuesday. Earlier Shubman was expected to bat in the middle order but now in the absence of KL Rahul, Shubman Gill will open the batting along with Mayank Agarwal. On the other hand, with Suryakumar Yadav & Shreyas Iyer named in the test squad either of the batsmen will make his test debut & bat in the middle order.

KL Rahul has regained his spot in the Test squad during the England tour where he formed a lethal partnership at the top of the order along with Rohit Sharma.

Even though the board has adopted the policy of managing the workload of several senior players during their ongoing home series against New Zealand ahead but KL Rahul continued to be present in all of their squads. He didn’t feature in the playing XI on Sunday for the final T20I against New Zealand.

Meanwhile, Suryakumar Yadav who has been selected as KL Rahul’s replacement for the ongoing New Zealand tests hasn’t made his debut in the red-ball cricket for India however he has made his debut in the other two formats earlier this year. He was a part of the test squad in England as well earlier this year but wasn’t featured in the Playing XI.

India will be without the services of Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli for the opening test with Ajinkya Rahane leading the squad in the absence of Virat Kohli. Virat will return back to the squad for the secodn test in Mumbai that will begin on December 3.

India vs NZ Tests: India squad 

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

IND vs NZ Tests Schedule

Match Date & Venue
1st TestNovember 25-29 | India vs New Zealand, Green Park, Kanpur
2nd TestDecember 03-07 | India vs New Zealand, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai


Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here