CSA announces 21 member squad for the Test series against India

CSA announce 21 member squad for the test series against India

IND vs SA 2021: CSA announces a strong 21 member squad for the Test series against India starting from December 26. Duanne Olivier who last played a Test for South Africa in 2019 has been included in Proteas’ 21 man squad while Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen too got the nod for the crucial three-match test series.

Players like Ryan Rickelton and Sisanda Magala earned maiden Test call-ups. Meanwhile, Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock & Anrich Nortje who had been rested for the ODI series against the Netherlands are back in the squad for the crucial test series as South Africa aims to make a positive start to their ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 journey.

Olivier who has played ten test matches since his debut in 2017, returned to the South Africa squad earlier this year after a stint as Kolpak Player & has been a spectacular form this season. In the four first-class matches in the four-day franchise series, the pacer has bagged 28 wickets at an average of 11.14 with 9 for 95 being best in a game.

Wicket-keeper Rickelton has scored two centuries 117 against Boland & 159 against North West to make his case while Stuurman impressed against India with seven wickets in the second unofficial Test. Erwee struck 163 for Dolphins against Titans while pacer Magala had bagged 15 wickets in three first-class matches before making his ODI debut against the Netherlands. Lungi Ngidi will make a comeback to the squad after recovering from COVID-19 as the selectors have plenty of pace options to work with.

Deal Elgar will lead the team with Temba Bavuma will be his vice-captain with the series slated to kick-off on December 26. “We as the Selectors are excited for the return of Test cricket. This format is very important to CSA and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organization’s priorities,” Victor Mpitsang, the Convenor of Selectors, said.

“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time.

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil.”

The first test of the India vs South Africa test series will be played in Centurion while the next two matches will be played in Johannesburg and Cape Town. The series will be followed by three ODI starting from January 19.

IND vs SA 2021: South Africa Test Squad:

Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here