IND vs SL: Sri Lanka beat India in the third T20I to clinch the T20I series by 2-1

Sri Lanka beat India in the third T20I to clinch the T20I series by 2-1

IND vs SL: Wanindu Hasaranga scalped four wickets before Sri Lanka batsmen sealed an easy win in the final T20I against India to clinch the T20I series by 2-1 on Thursday.

Sri Lanka needed just 82 runs to win against the injury-hit Indian team in the third T20I & the hosts chased down the target comfortably within 15 overs. Chasing an easy 82 runs target hosts got off to a decent start as Rahul Chahar removed Avishka Fernando in the sixth over. It was a slow start from Sri Lanka but the hosts already had the edge over India as they needed just 82 runs to win. Chahar scalped two more wickets by dismissing Minod Bhanuka & Sadeera Samarawickrama but couldn’t stop Sri Lanka from chasing the target.

Earlier Hasaranga scalped four wickets to limit India to a below-par total of 81/8. Choosing to bat first, India got off to a poor start as India lost Captain Shikhar Dhawan right in the first over. A mix-up in the middle resulted in Devdutt Padikkal getting run-out right in the fifth over. Sanju Samson as usual couldn’t make a difference with his bat & got out in the fifth over. With the dismissal of Samson, India’s chances to score a good target got ended. Ruturaj (14) was playing well but he got dismissed in the fifth over. India lost three consecutive wickets in the same fifth over & Nitish Rana’s dismissal in the 9th over left India struggling at 36/6 with no competent batsmen on the field. Bhuvneshwar Kumar & Kuldeep Yadav then stitched a 19 runs stand however the stand couldn’t flourish further as Hasaranga sent the pacer back to the pavilion in the 15th over.

After 15 overs, India’s score was 55/6 with Kuldeep & Chahar at the crease. India kept losing wickets at regular intervals & were eight wickets down for 63 runs before Kuldeep & Sakariya stitched an 18 runs stand as India posted a below-par total of 81 runs in 20 overs.

IND vs SL Brief Scores

India 81/8 (Kuldeep Yadav 23*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 16, Wanindu Hasaranga 4-9) Sri Lanka 82/3 (Dhananjaya De Silva 23*, Minod Bhanuka 18, Rahul Chahar 3-15)

Catch up with the IND vs SL latest news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here