IND vs WI 2022: BCCI announces 18 member squad for West Indies T20I series


IND vs WI 2022: BCCI announces 18 member squad for West Indies T20I series

IND vs WI 2022: BCCI announces an 18-member squad for India’s upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies slated to begin later this month. Senior Players Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal all are rested for the series. There are chances of injured KL Rahul returning back to action subject after clearing the fitness test.

As per the sources, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah & Yuzvendra Chahal all have been rested for the series. Earlier, there have been speculations on the future of Virat Kohli who has been going through a lean patch for a long period of time. However, team management has made it clear that Virat Kohli continues to remain in their plans for the T20 World Cup 2022 later this year despite of his lean form.

Off-spinner R Ashwin who hasn’t featured in India’s T20I squad since their home series against New Zealand held in November 2021 has received a call-up to the T20I squad. He will spearhead the spin department along with Kuldeep Yadav (subject to fitness), Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, and Ravindra Jadeja. Meanwhile, Hardik Pandya and Rishabh Pant, who have been rested from the ODI leg, will play the T20Is.

Meanwhile, Jammu express, Umran Malik couldn’t make a cut to the T20I squad as selectors have chosen pacers Arshdeep Singh in place of Malik. Arshdeep would feature in the pace department consisting of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, and Harshal Patel. Umran Malik who made his debut in the recently concluded T20I series against England which India won by 2-1, failed to impress the selectors as he conceded 56 runs scalping just one wicket in his spell of four overs. On the other hand, newbie Arshdeep produced an impressive performance on his debut in the opening T20I by scalping 2 wickets for 18 runs.

Ishan Kishan has been chosen as the reserve opener & secodn wicket-keeper for the West Indies T20Is. KL Rahul is currently rehabilitating at the NCA in Bengaluru after undergoing surgery for a sports hernia in Germany in late June. He has been named in the 18-member squad but would be back to action only after deeming fit to play.

Deepak Hooda who registered his maiden T20I ton in Ireland series in June has been named in the squad in place of Virat Kohli along with Dinesh Karthik, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav.

India will begin their West Indies tour with an ODI series, in which Shikhar Dhawan will lead the ODI squad in the absence of senior players. The five T20Is begin on July 29 in Tarouba, followed by matches on August 1 and 2 in St Kitts, before the series moves to Florida in the USA for the final two matches on August 6 and 7.

IND vs WI 2022: India’s squad for the five T20Is

Rohit Sharma (capt), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*The inclusion of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.


Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here