IND vs WI 2022: West Indies announces Squad for India ODI Series


IND vs WI 2022: West Indies announces Squad for India ODI Series

IND vs WI 2022: All-rounder Jason Holder returns to the West Indies ODI squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India beginning on July 22. Jason was rested for the recently ended ODI series against Bangladesh which Windies lost by 3-0.

Meanwhile, Fast bowler Anderson Phillip and bowling allrounder Romario Shepherd were excluded from the squad after going wicketless against Bangladesh. Their terrific run against Bangladesh cost them a place in India’s ODI squad. Phillip played featured in just one match in the Bangladesh ODI series while Shepherd played in all three ODIs.

“As we all know, Jason is one of the leading all-round cricketers in the world and we’re happy to have him back in the team,” West Indies’ chief selector Desmond Haynes said. “He will be refreshed, re-energized, and ready to go and we can expect to see his brilliance on the field as well as meaningful contributions off the field as well.

“We had a very challenging three matches against Bangladesh in Guyana so we will be looking to rebound when we face India in the conditions in Trinidad. We have seen some growth among some players, but overall we need to regroup and play better against the Indians.”

West Indies are lagging behind in the ICC World Cup Super League Points Table after winning just four out of 15 matches they have played. Three of those victories came against the Netherlands while one came against Ireland. West Indies have lost the last six matches in a row & are on a six-match losing streak.

On the other hand their rivals Asian Giants, India are marching into this series off a successful tour of England where they emerged victorious in the ODI series by a 2-1 score. However, India have rested their senior players Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Rishabh Pant from the West Indies ODI series as a move to manage their workload. Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan will be India’s stand-in captain for the three-match ODI series which will be played on July 22, 24, and 27 at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.

IND vs WI 2022: West Indies ODI squad:

Nicholas Pooran (capt), Shai Hope (vice-capt), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here