Indian team hits the field, begins their first training session in Colombo


IND vs SL: Shikhar Dhawan-led Indian team has trained for the first time in Colombo on Friday & kickstarted their preparations for the upcoming limited overs series against Sri lanka.

Sri Lanka will come into a face-off in three ODIs & three T20Is starting on July 13. Shikhar Dhawan will lead India’s white-ball team while Bhuvneshwar has been named as his vice-captain for the tour. The white ball team will be coached under the guidance of Rahul Dravid.

On Thursday the Indian team has completed their mandatory quarantine period & took the field Friday to start their training session under Coach Rahul Dravid. BCCI took to Twitter to share pictures of the Indian team training on the field. The BCCI captioned the pictures as, “Snapshots from #TeamIndia’s first training session in Sri Lanka”.


The players like Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan & Suryakumar Yadav are included in the white ball squad & many more young talents are looking forward to making a debut for India in the Sri Lanka series.

During the pre-departure conference, Rahul Dravid who is coaching the white ball series Indian team said that team India’s primary goal will be to win the ODI series in Colombo. He also highlighted the fact that it is an opportunity for new talents to reserve their spot in the ICC T20 World Cup by showing stellar performance in the Sri Lanka tour.

Shikhar Dhawan who will captain India’s white-ball team for the Sri Lanka tour said that he is privileged to captain the Indian team. He also said that he is looking forward to creating a good bond with the players to create a healthy atmosphere within the team.

Let’s have a look at IND vs SL limited-overs Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

IND vs SL Series Full Schedule:

1st ODI – July 13- 1:30 PM
2nd ODI – July 16- 1:30 PM
3rd ODI – July 19- 1:30 PM

1st T20I – July 22- 7:00 PM
2nd T20I – July 24- 7:00 PM
3rd T20I – July 27- 7:00 PM

Get all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here