IRE vs NZ: Clinical New Zealand beats Ireland by 31 runs to win the first T20I


IRE vs NZ: Clinical New Zealand beats Ireland by 31 runs to win the first T20I

IRE vs NZ: Black Caps continue to dominate the Irish by defeating them in the first T20I of the three-match T20I series in Belfast on Monday. Riding on the back of Glenn Phillips & Lockie Ferguson’s exemplary performance New Zealand outclasses Ireland in the first T20I of the series.

Put in to bat first by Ireland, New Zealand got off to a poor start as they lost wickets continuously. They were reduced to 4-54 in 8.3 overs with none of their batters could actually deliver. Only Martin Guptill could hit the straps by amassing 24 runs while Finn Allen, Dane Cleaver & Daryl Mitchell all failed to step up & score for their side. New Zealand needed a stable stand & Jimmy Neesham & Glenn Phillips did that by stitching a 46-run stand that helped New Zealand to reach the 100-run mark.

However soon their blooming stand was broken when George Dockrell dismissed Neesham for 29 runs. Phillips then stitched another crucial stand 45- run stand with Michael Bracewell to anchor New Zealand’s innings. But it was Josh Little who had the last laugh when he sent Bracewell back to the hut for 21 runs. Wickets kept falling on one end but Phillips was going strong on the other. Soon he brought up his half-century & took New Zealand to a decent total of 173-8 in 20 overs.

For Ireland, Josh Little starred with the ball after returning with 4-35 while Mark Adair too supported Little by scalping two wickets. On the other hand, Dockrell & Campher scalped one wicket each.

In reply, the chase of 174 runs started in a disastrous way for Ireland as they lost their key batters for 37 runs on board. Paul Stirling, Captain Andy Balbirnie, and Harry Tector all failed to hit the straps & Ireland was marching towards another humiliating defeat. Curtis Camphe & Lorcan Tucker on the crease tried to revive their run-chase but couldn’t succeed with Mitchell Santner sending Tucker back to the pavilion for 11 runs, reducing Ireland to 69-5.

Ireland’s wickets were falling like a pack of cards & at this point, Mark Adair & Barry McCarthy stitched a crucial 35-run stand to bring Ireland back on track. Howveer, their happiness could stay for long as Neesham dismissed the duo, reducing Ireland to 133-9. The rest of the job was done by Ferguson who dismissed Craig wrapping Ireland’s innings for 142 runs.

Lockie Ferguson starred with the ball for New Zealand by finishing with figures of 4-14. Neesham & Santer scalped two wickets each while Ish Sodhi & Jacob Duffy scalped one wicket each.

Man of the Match:

Glenn Phillips was adjourned ‘Man of the Match for his stunning innings of unbetaten 69 runs which helped New Zeaalnd to finish at a decent total of 173 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

IRE vs NZ: Brief Scores

New Zealand 173-8 (Glenn Phillips 69*, Jimmy Neesham 29*, Josh Little 4-35) defeated Ireland: 142 in 18.2 overs (Curtis Campher 29, Mark Adair 25, Lockie Ferguson 4-14)

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!








Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here