New Zealand announces 15 Players Squad for the WTC Final against India


New Zealand announced its 15 player squad for the WTC final against India starting from June 18. Ajaz Patel after registering an impressive four-wicket haul in the second test has deservingly secured a place in the WTC final. Doug Brace well, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, and Mitchell Santner are the players who couldn’t make it to the final squad.

Devon Conway who displayed a spectacular performance right on his debut is another player who sealed his spot for the mega event. Conway on his debut match at Lord’s amassed 200 runs to mark his historic stint with the bat in the longest format of cricket. He then followed it with a scintillating 80 runs knock scored in the first innings of the second Test at Edgbaston which empowered New Zealand to win the series with 1-0 against England. Ajaz Patel along with pacers Matt Henry, Trent Boult & Neil Wagner dominated New Zealand’s pace attack & helped the Black Caps to outclass hosts in the much crucial two-match test series.

“There’s had to be some tough calls with Mitchell and Daryl victims of the fierce competition we currently have for places in the Test side,” head coach Gary Stead said. “We’ve gone with Ajaz as our specialist spinner after an impressive outing at Edgbaston and we believe he could be a factor at the Ageas Bowl.” Gary Stead added.

Kane Williamson missed the second test due to an elbow injury while BJ Watling failed to recover till the second test match. Coach Gary Stead talked about Williamson & Watling’s rehabilitation & is confident that both New Zealand mains will recover in time for the final in Southampton. Gary also backed Colin de Grandhomme to do well in the game & showed trust in the star batsmen.

“Colin’s been an integral member of our Test set-up for many years and it was great to see him return at Lord’s after a long injury lay-off. He’s a proven performer at the top level and we back him to do a job with the bat or the ball if called upon. Kane and BJ have certainly benefited from their week of rest and rehabilitation and we expect them to be fit and available for the final”, Coach Gary Stead concluded.

15 Player Squad for the WTC Final:

Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young.

Get all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here