New Zealand to tour Bangladesh for a five-match T20I Series in September

New Zealand, Bangladesh

Bangladesh will host New Zealand in a five-match T20I series in September. The series will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka that will be played from September 1st to September 10.

Currently, the hosts are playing a five-match T20I series against Australia in which they have secured a 1-0 win against the Australian squad. On the other hand, New Zealand hasn’t played any international series since their WTC Final win. They will start their preparations for the upcoming T20 World Cup with a limited-overs series against Bangladesh.

Earlier Bangladesh was also going to host England for a limited-overs series but the tour was postponed to 2023 after both the boards agreed to postpone the tour. Bangladesh’s experienced players Mushfiqur Rahim & Tamim Iqbal who are currently not featuring in the squad will play in the limited-overs series against New Zealand.

According to the reports, New Zealand players will play limited-overs series against Bangladesh & will then head to the UAE for the second phase of the IPL 2021. The New Zealand Cricket Board has confirmed the player’s availability for the IPL 2021.

“New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, James Neesham, and Lockie Ferguson will feature in the second phase of the IPL 2021 in the UAE,” White had stated as quoted by the GEO Tv.

The New Zealand team will also play limited-overs series against Pakistan in the September-October Window. But the tour will go ahead only if New Zealand gets satisfied with the security measures in place. Meanwhile, Pakistan requested the New Zealand Cricket Board to add two more T20Is as preparatory ground for the T20 World Cup. But with the dates set to clash with the IPL 2021, both the teams are likely to play the originally scheduled 3 T20s and 3 ODIs.

Earlier, New Zealand hosted Bangladesh for a limited over series in March 2021 & the kiwis squad defeated Bangladesh in both T20Is & ODIs by registering a series whitewash. Bangladesh is yet to defeat New Zealand in a T20I series. In past, Bangladesh locked horns with New Zealand in 10 T20Is & has lost all the 10 T20Is to the Black Caps.

Catch up with the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates only at Cricketflicker, your one-stop solution for all the trending news of the cricket world!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here