SLC denies BCCI’s request to play warm-up matches against the ‘Sri Lanka A’ Side

India vs Sri Lanka

India vs Sri Lanka: Ahead of the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka, the Indian limited-overs series squad has assembled in Mumbai & every member of the touring squad is undergoing quarantine.

The Indian squad led by Shikhar Dhawan will play three intrasquad games in Colombo as preparation games before the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka. But first, the Indian team will undergo quarantine in India before undergoing quarantine in Sri Lanka in Colombo. “Team India’s limited-overs squad for the Sri Lanka series has assembled in Mumbai. Good to see some new and happy faces in the squad,” tweeted, BCCI.

Speaking to ANI the sources in the know of developments in the Sri Lankan Board had confirmed that the Indian team wanted to play some practice matches against Sri Lanka but due to the COVID-19 situation the request hasn’t been approved by the SLC & the Indian team will play intra-squad games and not against a Sri Lanka A team.

“The Indians wanted to play some warm-up games against the ”A” team or a team that could be arranged, but the COVID-19 protocols made that a little difficult and that is when a request went to BCCI to play intra-squad games. So, the Indian team will now play one T20 game and two one-day games to prepare for the limited-overs series,” the source said.

Last week on Thursday, the All India Senior Selection Committee has selected the squad for the three-match ODI & T20I series against Sri Lanka. The team will be led by Shikhar Dhawan with Bhuvneshwar Kumar being selected as the vice-captain. All the matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

The schedule for the three-match ODI series & T20I series was confirmed earlier this week. The three ODI will be played on July 13, 16, and 18, while the T20I series will commence on July 21, July 23, and 25.

Let’s have a look at India’s Squad for Sri Lanka Tour:

India vs Sri Lanka: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh

Get all the latest cricket news, live scores, live updates subscribe to Cricketflicker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here