Sri Lanka vs South Africa: Sri Lanka Cricket named a 22 member squad for the white ball series

Sri lanka Cricket named a 22 member squad for limtited-Overs Series against South Africa

Sri Lanka vs South Africa: Sri Lanka Cricket announced a 22 member squad for the limited-overs series against South Africa. Kusul Perera who has finished his isolation period after testing negative for COVID-19 is also included in the squad. Kusul had missed out on the ODI & T20Is series against India due to an injury. However, Perera has recovered from his injury & is available for the upcoming white-ball series against South Africa.

SLC has also recalled Dinesh Chandimal for the limited-overs series against South Africa. Chandimal hasn’t played for Sri Lanka since their West Indies tour held in March-April earlier this year. Lahiru Madushanka, Mahesh Theekshana & Pulina Tharanga have also been named in the 22 member Sri Lankan team that will be captained by Dasun Shanaka while Dhananjaya De Silva will be his deputy Captain.

Angelo Matthews, opener Dimuth Karunaratne, and pacer Suranga Lakmal have been excluded from the squad. The rest of the squad includes known faces such as Bhanuka Rajapaksa, all-rounder Charith Asalanka who produced brilliant performances against India in July. Minod Bhanuka has retained his spot in the squad despite an average outing against India. Wanindu Hasaranga and Akila Dananjaya will lead the spin-bowling department.

Sri Lanka will host South Africa for three ODIs & three T20Is. All the matches of the series will be played at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo from September 2 to 14. This will be the final limited-overs series for both teams before the T20 World Cup.

Sri Lanka’s squad for ODI and T20I series against South Africa:

Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akhila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka, Pulina Tharanga, Maheesh Theekshana.

Sri Lanka vs South Africa ODIs & T20Is Schedule:

Sep 2nd – 3pm IST1st ODIR Premadasa Stadium
Sep 4th– 3 pm IST2nd ODIR Premadasa Stadium
Sep 7th – 3 pm IST3rd ODIR Premadasa Stadium
Sep 10th– 3 pm IST1st T20IR Premadasa Stadium
Sep 12th– 3 pm IST2nd T20IR Premadasa Stadium
Sep 14th– 3 pm IST3rd T20IR Premadasa Stadium

Catch up with the latest cricket news, Latest Cricket Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflciker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here