Wednesday, February 1, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News CSA announces $4 Million prize money for inaugural SA20 League

CSA announces $4 Million prize money for inaugural SA20 League

CSA announces $4 Million prize money for inaugural SA20 League

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the prize money for the inaugural edition of the SA20 League. In a lucrative announcement for all the participating players, the apex board has set aside a total of $4 Million as the prize money for the championship. This amounts to Rs. 33.5 Crore!

The ever-growing popularity of franchise-based leagues has always been attracting tremendous amounts of wealth. Cricket boards across the world are paving the way to launch their own franchise league and indulging themselves in a competitive price war over earnings and rewards.

The  League is certainly going to clash with the popular franchise league in the Gulf namely the International League T-20 (ILT20). With the Proteas league already raising the bar and declaring a hefty prize money, all eyes will be on the organizers of the ILT20 who are also going to announce the same by the end of this month.

On the contrary, a major boon is that the extraordinary wealth generation in franchise leagues is distracting the centrally contracted cricketers of their national duty and they are adjusting their calendar based on the schedule of these cash-rich leagues.

However, the SA20 League’s prize money could not compete and stand against the ultra-high prize money set by the organizers of the Indian Premier League (IPL). IPL is undisputedly the richest franchise league in the world that rewards the winning franchises with a total prize money of Rs. 46.5 crores.

The BCCI had recently sold the media rights to the broadcasters of the tournament for a whopping Rs. 48,390 crores. With such a massive hike in revenue, BCCI will likely increase the prize money of the 2023 season of IPL by 20-25%.

Six teams will compete in the Inaugural SA20 League

The CSA T-20 League is set to kick start on January 10 at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town. Notably, the owners of all the six franchises at the championship are based in India and own IPL franchises Mumbai Indians (MI Cape Town), Paarl Royals (Rajasthan Royals), Durban Super Giants (Lucknow Super Giants), Joburg Super Kings (Chennai Super Kings), Sunrisers Eastern Cape (Sunrisers Hyderabad) and Pretoria Capitals (Delhi Capitals).

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



CSA announces $4 Million prize money for inaugural SA20 League
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...