ENG W vs SA W: England Women announces 13 member squad for One-off Test


ENG W vs SA W: England Women announces 13 member squad for One-off Test

ENG W vs SA W: England women have announced 13 member squad for their one-off Test against South Africa. The board have named five debutants- Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Davidson-Richards, Freya Davies, and Emma Lamb to the squad.

England have selected the best players from the talent pool who have resulted in the growth of women’s cricket in England. They are also planning to get perfect candidates to fill in the place of veteran pacers Anya Shrubsole, who retired from international cricket after England finished runners-up at the World Cup in April, and Katherine Brunt, who last week announced that she had played her last Test, although she remains available for selection in other formats.

Pacer Issy Wong has been named as a traveling reserve as she continues her development while also managing her workload. Right-arm pacer Arlott who was added to England’s squad for a one-off Test against India on the back of a five-wicket haul for Central Sparks in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy is all set to make her debut in a one-off Test against South Africa. On the other hand, Bell has impressed one & all in the domestic circuit including her 3 for 12 for Southern Vipers against Lightning in the Charlotte Edwards Cup.

Right-arm pacer Davies who has played seven ODIs & 17 T20Is & played an integral part in England’s Ashes and World Cup campaigns earlier this year has received a call-up to England’s one-off Test. Davidson-Richards makes a comeback to England’s squad for the first time in four years after playing her only ODI in India in April 2018 & her five T20Is the previous month. On other hand, all-rounder Lab who made her international debut last summer after playing her only T20I against New Zealand in September before featuring in two ODI’s during the Ashes 2022 & Women’s World cup 2022.

England’s one-off Test against South Africa will be played from June 27-30 in Taunton followed by three ODIs & three T20Is to be palyed in July.

ENG W vs SA W: England Women Test Squad:

Heather Knight (C), Freya Davies, Amy Jones, Emily Arlott, Charlie Dean, Emma Lamb, Tammy Beaumont, Sophia Dunkley, Nat Sciver, Lauren Bell, Sophie Ecclestone, Issy Wong (reserve), Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards

ENG W vs SA W: England Women Names ‘A Squad’ for three days Fixture

Meanwhile, England also announces a 16-member ‘A squad’ for their three days fixture against South Africa at Arundel starting from Juen 21. Lauren Winfield hill who has been overlooked for the Test squad has been named in England Women’s A Squad. Danni Wyatt, who has opened with Beaumont in white-ball formats & has never played a Test has been named in the A squad. England Women’s A squad will be captained by Georgia Elwiss with John Stanworth as their head coach. Nine players who are yet to make their International debut have been included in the A squad.

ENG W vs SA W: England Women A Squad

Georgia Elwiss (capt), Maia Bouchier, Danni Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Freya Kemp, Eve Jones, Ella McCaughan, Kalea Moore, Tara Norris, Grace Potts, Grace Scrivens, Alexa Stonehouse, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!