Tuesday, November 29, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in Different Format

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in Different Format

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in Different Format

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in West Indies & USA will be played in a different format from the last two editions. Unlike World Cups 2021 & 2022 the T20 World Cup 2024 will not comprise of first round & Super 12 stage instead 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five teams each in the 2024 tournament.

The top two teams of each four groups will move ahead to the super eight stages where they will be further divided into two groups of four teams each. The top two teams in each of the super eight groups will qualify for the semifinals which will be followed by the final.

Talking about the format of the last two editions of the T20 World Cup, the first round had two groups of four players each which included teams that entered the T20 World Cup through the qualifying event & also the teams that ended between the ninth & 12th position in the previous T20 World Cups. The top two teams of each group in the first then joined the rest of the eight teams that had already qualified for the Super 12 stage.

12 teams have qualified for the T20 World Cup 2024

12 teams have already made a cut in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 with USA & West Indies qualified automatically as the host of the prestigious tournament. Reigning Champions England along with Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa & Netherlands have also qualified for the marquee event after finishing in the top eight in the T20 World Cup 2022. On the other hand, Afghanistan & Bangladesh are the other two teams who would look ahead to book their spots in the marquee event as they are the best team in the ICC T20I Team rankings on the cut-off date of November 14.

The rest of the remaining eight teams will make it to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 through regional qualifiers. Talking about T20 World Cup 2022, England has displayed a ferocious all-round show to win the title for the second time after defeating Pakistan in the final match held in Melbourne on November 13.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in Different Format
Sarah Shaikhhttps://cricketflicker.com/
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

ILT20: Dubai Capitals to face Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in Opening Clash

The lavish stadiums of UAE are set, and players are geared up as the much-awaited ILT20 is all set to kickstart on January 13,...

AUS vs WI 2022: Pat Cummins names Playing XI for first Test

AUS vs WI 2022: Australia’s Captain Pat Cummins has announced the Playing XI for their first Test against West Indies beginning in Perth on...

SA20: Quinton De Kock named Durban Super Giants Captain

The inaugural edition of the CSA’s SA20 League is all set to commence in January 2023 & all the franchisees are trying their best...

BBL 2022-23: Usman Qadir signs a deal with Sydney Thunder

In an attempt to strengthen the bowling attack BBL’s Sydney Thunder franchise has signed Pakistan’s Legspinner Usman Qadir for the BBL 2022-23. He will...