ICC New Rules: Saliva Ban is permanent, ‘Mankad’ to be termed as ‘Run-Out’


ICC New Rules: Saliva Ban is permanent, 'Mankad' to be termed as 'Run-Out'

The ICC on Tuesday has made several tweaks to the existing playing conditions across formats. The new rules introduced by ICC will come into effect from October 1, 2022. This mean’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia will be played under new rules. The Sourav Ganguly-led Men’s Cricket Committee recommended changes to the playing conditions in MCC’s updated third edition of the Code of the laws of Cricket 2017.

“It was an honor chairing my first meeting of the ICC Cricket Committee,” Ganguly said. “I was pleased with the productive contribution of the Committee members which resulted in key recommendations being made. I thank all members for their valuable input and suggestions.”

ICC New Rules are as follows:

  • The new batter on the crease will take the strike: As per the new rule, even if the two batters on the crease change the strike before a catch is taken, the batter that walks in at the fall of the wicket will take the strike.
  • Saliva ban is permanent: The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in cricket being played within the bio-bubbles and with restrictions such as the ban on the usage of saliva to shine the ball. After struggling for two years due to COVID-19, the ICC has decided that the ban on the usage of saliva would be made permanent, though the bio-bubbles aren’t mandatory anymore.
  • ‘Mankading’ to be termed as ‘run-out’: Running out the non-striker before a delivery which is popularly known as Mankading has often raised debates on the spirit of the game. This method of affecting a dismissal has now been moved from the ‘unfair play’ section to the ‘run-out’ section. The mode of dismissal often referred to as ‘Mankading’, will now be considered as a regular run out.
  • Time for the new batter to take the strike has been reduced: Earlier in ODIs & Tests, there was a time limit of three minutes for the new batter to take the strike after the fall of a wicket. However, now the ICC has reduced that time limit to two minutes in ODI & Test format. While the time limit of 90 seconds in T20Is remains unchanged.
  • Five-run penalty for unfair field movement: Any unfair or deliberate movement when the bowler is running to bowl a delivery will result in a five-run penalty to the batting team as well as the ball being termed as a dead ball.
  • Over-rate Penalty: Earlier in January 2022, an in-match penalty was introduced in t20I format whereby a fielding team must be in a position to bowl the first ball of the last over of the innings by the scheduled or rescheduled time for the end of the innings. If they failed to do so then one fielder will be removed from the 30-year circle for the rest of the innings. This rule will now be adopted in ODIs as well, after the completion of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League 2023.
  • No-ball if a batter moves out of the pitch: If a batter moves beyond the confined area of the pitch to face a ball, the delivery will be termed as a no-ball. The batter or some part of the bat needs to stay within the pitch. Also, any ball which would force the batter to leave the pitch will also be called ‘No-ball’.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!