ILT20: Abu Dhabi Knight Riders announces 14 member Squad for the League


ILT20: Abu Dhabi Knight Riders announces 14 member Squad for the League

UAE’s International League T-20 (ILT20) has started to gain momentum as the franchises are announcing their squads. In the latest development, a franchise owned by Indian superstar Shahrukh Khan namely Abu Dhabi Knight Riders has announced their 14-member initial squad for the championship.

Powerhouse Caribbean all-rounders Andre Russell and Sunil Narine along with astonishing English frontline batsman Jonny Bairstow have been named as the front runners in the squad. Notably, Russell and Narine also feature for their parent franchise Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League.

Alongside the three giants, Abu Dhabi Knight Riders will also feature Caribbean spinner Akeal Hosein and paceman Ravi Rampaul along with sizzling Sri Lankan batsman Charith Asalanka. Truly, ADKR is up with a splendid all-round combination that can turn out to be destructive in the league.

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders have also announced their overseas players who will join the main squad. Amongst the batsmen are Ireland’s Paul Stirling and South Africa’s Colin Munro whereas Sri Lanka’s Seekuge Prasanna and pacer Lahiru Kumara fill in the all-rounder and bowler’s spot respectively.

The local United Arab Emirates (UAE) players will be added to the squad in a draft that will be published later in the month.

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders CEO Venky Mysore was delighted to announce the squad for the upcoming edition of ILT20. He stated that the franchise is happy to retain the likes of Russell and Narine and also sign breathtaking international talent including Bairstow, Hosein, Rampaul, Prasanna, Kumara, Ingram, and Stirling.

With entering the ILT20, the Knight Riders continue to expand their global footprint as they are the stakeholders in the IPL as well as the Caribbean Premier League where they own the Trinbago Knight Riders franchise.

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders became the second franchise to announce their squad after the MI Emirates released their 14-member squad last week. All eyes will be on the list of the other franchises who are going to announce their squad shortly.

The ILT20 2023 is set to begin in January 2023, clashing with Australia’s Big Bash League and South Africa’s CSA T-20 League.

14-Member Abu Dhabi Knight Riders Squad:

Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Akeal Hosein, Raymon Reifer, Kennar Lewis, Ravi Rampaul (all from West Indies), Jonny Bairstow (England), Paul Stirling (Ireland), Ali Khan (USA), Lahiru Kumara, Charith Asalanka, Seekkuge Prasanna (trio from Sri Lanka), Colin Ingram (South Africa), Brandon Glover (The Netherlands).

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!