IND vs AFG Live Score: Clinical India registers 101 run win over Afghans


IND vs AFG Live Score: Clinical India registers 101 run win over Afghans

IND vs AFG Live Score: Today’s fixture had many positives for the Indian cricket team. The match saw the rise of Virat Kohli who ended his 1019 days long century drought by registering his 71st century. Not only this but the match also saw the return of India’s swashbuckling pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar who returned with his career-best figures of 5-4. On the back of Virat & Bhuvneshwar’s scintillating performances, India registered a gleaming 101-run win over Afghanistan.

IND vs AFG Live Score: Virat Kohli powered India to a mammoth 212 runs total

The match began with Afghanistan winning the toss & opting to bat first. Batting first, KL Rahul & Virat Kohli provided India with a swashbuckling start by taking Afghanistan bowlers to the cleaners. The duo registered a glemaing 119 run stand for the first wicket. However, in the 12th over, Fareed Ahmed removed KL Rahul for 62 runs off 41 balls to provide Afghanistan with their first breakthrough.

However, Kohli was going strong at one end by smashing Afghanistan bowlers for fours & sixes. After Suryakumar’s dismissal in the 13th over, Virat Kohli joined hands with Rishabh Pant & kept India’s scoreboard ticking. The duo stitched an unbeaten 97-run stand for the third wicket & helped India to end their innings at a mammoth 212 runs in 20 overs. Rishabh Pant stayed unbeaten at 20 runs off 16 balls while Virat Kohli stayed unbeaten at 122 runs off 61 balls in an innings embellished with 12 fours & six sixes. In the process, Virat registered his 71st International ton & became the second highest run-scorer in the T20I format.

For Afghanistan Fareed Ahmed starred with the ball by returning with two wickets for 57 runs.

Bhuvneshwar’s terrific 5-4 guides India to a Gleaming Win

In reply, Afghanistan got to a disastrous start as they lost both their openers right in the first over. Bhuvneshwar Kumar struck in the first over to remove Hazratullah Zazai & Rahmanullah Gurbaz for ducks. Bhuvneshwar Kumar struck again in the third over to dismiss Karim Janat (0) & Najibullah Zadran (0) reducing Afghanistan to 21-5 in six overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar struck again in the seventh over to remove Azmatullah Omarzai completing his five-wicket haul & reducing Afghanistan to 21-6 in 7 overs.

Ibrahim Zadran then joined hands with Rashid Khan & guided Afghanistan to the 50-run mark. But it was Deepak Hooda who had the last laugh after removing Rashid Khan for 15 runs off 19 balls. Wickets were falling continuously but Zadran was going strong at the other end.

He then joined hands with Mujeeb-Ur-Rahman & stitched a 33-run stand to keep Afghanistan alive in the chase. However, before they could even take Afghanistan to 100 run mark, Ashwin struck to dismiss Rahman for 18 runs off 13 balls in the 18th over. Their lone fighter Ibrahim Zadran who stayed unbetaten on 64 runs off 59 balls with four & two sixes guided Afghanistan to 111 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

For India Bhuvneshwar Kumar starred with the ball by returning with the best bowling figures of 5-4, which also marks his best bowling spell in T20Is.

IND vs AFG Live Score: Brief Scores

India 212/2 in 20 overs (Kohli 122*; Fareed Ahmad 2-57) beat Afghanistan 111/8 in 20 overs (Ibrahim Zadran 64*; Bhuvneshwar 5-4) by 101 runs

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!