IND vs AUS 1st T20I: Australia wins by four wickets to take a 1-0 lead


IND vs AUS 1st T20I: Australia wins by four wickets to take a 1-0 lead

IND vs AUS 1st T20I: The loopholes in India’s bowling attack proved costly for them once again as they ended up losing their first T20I against Australia by four wickets, trailing the series by 1-0. India’s pace attack looked toothless in front of Australia’s strong batting line-up as they chased the target in 19.2 overs with four wickets in hand.

Hardik’s Perfect 71-run knock guided India to a Decent Total

Batting first, India got off to a poor start as they lost openers Virat Kohli (2) & Rohit Sharma (11) early in the powerplay overs, reducing India to 35-2 in 4.5 overs. KL Rahul then joined hands with Suryakumar Yadav & the duo then hit some meaty shots to bring India back on track. Flamboyant KL Rahul amassed 55 runs off 35 balls in an innings braced with four fours & three sixes. Suryakumar Yadav too contributed by scoring 46 runs off 25 balls smashing two fours & fours sixes.

They were going strong with the bat & successfully helped in reviving India’s innings by stitching a 68-run stand for the third wicket. Soon their happiness was cut short with Hazlewood dismissing KL Rahul in the 12th over to give Australia a major breakthrough. Later in the 14th over Cameron Green sent Suryakumar back to the hut, reducing India to 126-4 in 14 overs.

There was a mini-collapse for India as Axar Patel (6) & Dinesh Karthik (6) both failed to hit the straps with the bat. But in the end, Hardik Pandya did wonders for India by smashing an unbeaten 71 runs off 30 balls in beautiful innings embellished with seven boundaries & five sixes. On the back of Hardik Pandya’s blistering 71 runs knock, India managed to finish their innings on 208 for six in 20 overs. For Australia, the best bowlers were Nathan Ellis (3-30) and Josh Hazlewood (2-39).

Smith, Wade’s crucial knocks guided Australia over the line in 19 overs

In reply, Australia began their chase on a decent note with Aaron Finch & Cameron Green providing them with a blistering start. However, soon Axar Patel provided India with their first breakthrough by dismissing Aaron Finch for 22 runs off 13 balls in 3.3 overs. But then Green joined hands with Steven Smith to stitch a massive 70-run stand for the second wicket to keep Australia’s scoreboard ticking. But then Axar struck again in the 10th over to remove Cameron Green after scoring 61 runs off 30 balls in an innings braced with eight fours & four sixes.

Soon in the 13th over Steve Smith was sent back to the pavilion after playing a valorous knock of 35 runs off 24 balls. Smith’s wicket brought Australia under pressure as Glenn Maxwell (1) & Josh Inglis (11) failed to deliver with the bat. Australia was reduced from 109 for 1 to 145 for five in 14.1 overs.

However, then came a game-changing moment for Australia with Matthew Wade & Tim David (18 off 14) weaving a scintillating 62-run stand to help visitors have an edge over the hosts. As a result, Australia was successful in chasing the target in 19.2 overs & ended on 211 for six wickets. Matthew Wade was the torch bearer for Australia who stayed unbeaten till the end returning with figures of 45 runs off 21 balls in an innings braced with six fours & two sixes.

India’s bowling attack proved ineffective as except for Axar Patel & Umesh Yadav none of the bowlers could actually scalp crucial wickets when needed the most. Axar Patel returned with three wickets for 17 runs while Umesh Yadav scalped two wickets for 27 runs. The second match of the series will be played in Nagpur on 23 September.

IND vs AUS 1st T20I: Brief Scores

India 208-6 in 20 overs (Hardik Pandya 71*, KL Rahul 55; Nathan Ellis 3-30) vs Australia 211-6 in 19.2 overs (Cameron Green 61, Matthew Wade 45*; Axar Patel 3-30)

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!