Friday, December 2, 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News IND vs SA: Mohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah in rest of...

IND vs SA: Mohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah in rest of the Series

IND vs SA: Mohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah in rest of the Series

IND vs SA: In an unexpected move by the Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) Senior Men’s Selection Committee, the governing body has named veteran pacer Mohammed Siraj as a replacement for the injured frontline paceman Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the two T-20I’s of the South African series.

Jasprit Bumrah had complained of severe back pain before the toss at the 1st T-20I of the series. Assessed by the medical team, Bumrah had pulled out of the game which India eventually won owing to the scintillating performances of Arshdeep Singh and ace batsman Suryakumar Yadav.

Bumrah had been struggling with his back pain for a brief period of six months and had also missed the crucial Asia Cup due to the injury. According to the sources, Bumrah will undergo fresh medical scans and travel to National Cricket Academy in Bangalore for rehabilitation before the medical teams take a final call on his participation in the T-20 World Cup.

Mohammed Siraj latest contender for T20 World Cup 2022 squad

In view of the upcoming World Cup in Australia, Siraj has been served with a golden opportunity to prove himself and seal a berth in the squad. India has already been struggling with its death bowling and giving a sterling performance at a much anticipated time can benefit Siraj to establish himself in the shortest format of the game.

Though Siraj last featured for India in a T-20I fixture against Sri Lanka in February 2022, he is always considered one of the finest options for the red-ball test cricket format. Siraj has been exceptional for Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise and has been a bankable pacer for the side.

However, Siraj has not only been an addition to India’s squad. Injury concerns have been looming over the Indian camp as recently Deepak Hooda too sustained one and was ruled out of the series. He is replaced by Shreyas Iyer. Mohammed Shami who got tested positive for Covid recently is recovering and Umesh Yadav has replaced the senior versatile paceman. Shahbaz Ahmed has replaced the insurgent all-rounder Hardik Pandya who has been rested.

After the completion of the final T20I of IND vs SA series on Tuesday 4th October, the World Cup-bound squad will leave for Australia later that week. While a second-string Indian team led by Shikhar Dhawan will play three-match ODI series against South Africa.

IND vs SA: India squad for the 2nd and 3rd T20I

Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-capt), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal,  R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



IND vs SA: Mohammed Siraj to replace Jasprit Bumrah in rest of the Series
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

AUS vs WI 1st Test Day 2: Smith, Labuschagne’s ton powers Australia to 598-4

AUS vs WI 1st Test Day 2: The Australian clan was all pumped up after having a fantastic Day  1. They carried ahead the...

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England registers a record breaking 506 runs on Day 1

ENG vs PAK 1st Test: England's Cricket team scripted history by becoming the first team in the history of World Cricket to register more...

ILT20: Sharjah Warriors appoints Moeen Ali as their Captain

England’s all-rounder Moeen Ali has been appointed as the Captain of the Sharjah Warriors franchise for the inaugural edition of ILT20 beginning in January...

BCCI announces appointment of three-member CAC

The BCCI on Thursday appointed a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) including former India Cricketers Ashok Malhotra, Sulakshana Nail & Jatin Paranjpe. The elite...