Thursday, February 2, 2023
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
oppabet gambling website 2022
Home Cricket News IND vs SL 2023: Hardik Pandya to lead India in T20I Series

IND vs SL 2023: Hardik Pandya to lead India in T20I Series

IND vs SL 2023: Hardik Pandya to lead India in T20I Series

India’s T20I team is embarking on a new journey as the BCCI & Selectors are planning to revamp the team keeping in mind the next T20 World Cup in 2024. India’s preparation for the marquee event will begin from the IND vs SL T20I Series beginning in January 2023. As per the reports, the Board is planning to hand over the reins of T20I cricket in the hands of Hardik Pandya from the Sri Lanka T20I Series while big names such as Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli will not be a part of India’s T20I format anymore.

According to the sources the BCCI had informally informed R Ashwin, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami, and Dinesh Karthik that they won’t be a part of India’s T20I squad anymore. Notably, all the above-mentioned players will not be a part of India’s T20I Series against Sri Lanka. Meanwhile, KL Rahul too will miss the IND vs SL 2023 T20I series as he will tie the knot with his long-time Girlfriend Athiya Shetty during that duration. However, all the formal announcements about T20I captaincy & other decisions of the T20I squad will be taken once the New Selection Committee comes on board in December.

“The new selection committee gets appointed in December. They will take all formal decisions about the Indian squad. But it is confirmed that we need to move on from a few big names. Rohit and Virat have already been spoken to about BCCI’s plans & they are on the same page with the BCCI“, informed a top BCCI official to InsideSport.

Hardik Pandya to lead T20I Squad while Rohit will take care of ODI Squad

The BCCI is planning to make these major changes in the T20I format in an attempt to bring the next T20 World Cup 2024 home. Unfortunately, India has failed to win any ICC trophies for a decade. They had last won an ICC Trophy in 2013 when MS Dhoni guided them to the ICC Champions Trophy Triumph. India brought a T20 World Cup home in 2007 & ODI World Cup in 2011 both under MS Dhoni’s Captaincy. To break the shackle & win the upcoming marquee events the BCCI & Selection Committee is making changes to the squad. With KL Rahul & Rishabh Pant’s inconsistent records in T20Is, Hardik Pandya is the front-runner & only deserving candidate for T20I Captaincy.

On the other hand, Rohit Sharma who is in his mid 30’s will stay ODI Captain until World Cup 2023. While he will continue to hold Test Captaincy at least till the end of the WTC 2021-2023 cycle. Senior players who played in T20 World Cup 2022 will not be a part of the next T20 World Cup in 2024 in USA & West Indies.

Stay hooked to the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


IND vs SL 2023: Hardik Pandya to lead India in T20I Series
Sarah Shaikh
Content Writer & a Digital Marketer with a keen interest in Sports. My aim is to express my opinions through perfect clutter of words which will help me to connect with the people around & gain some valuable experiences.

Most Popular

IND vs NZ: New Zealand announces Squad for India T20I series

IND vs NZ: New Zealand has announced 15 member squad for their upcoming T20I Series against India beginning later this month. And there comes...

SEC vs PC Prediction, Sunrisers Eastern Capitals vs Pretoria Capitals Probable Playing XIs

SEC vs PC: The much anticipated SA20 league has begun with zest & peps with big names of World Cricket participating in the tournament....

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars put an end to their Losing Streak

STA vs STR: Melbourne Stars powered a thumping victory over Adelaide Strikers in their recently concluded pool stage fixture in Victoria. With this victory,...

BCCI to unveil Women’s IPL franchises on January 25

The Board of Cricket Control for India (BCCI) is set to announce the names of the five franchises that will battle it out for...