David Warner titled as ‘The Captain’ of Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2020


David Warner is all set to sail the ship of Sunrisers Hyderabad by becoming its next ‘Captain’ for IPl 2020. Sunrisers Hyderabad has announced ‘David Warner’ as the captain of IPL 2020 that will commence from March 29. Warner has taken over the leadership from Kane Williamson who led the side in 2018 and 2019. Williamson was named as the captain of ‘Sunrisers Hyderabad’ in 2018 as Warner was not allowed to participate in the 2018 session of IPL due to Australia’s ball tempering controversy which occurred before the start of the league that year.

Looking at the team’s management quality & performance of the team during Williamson’s captaincy tenure, he successfully led the Sunrisers in the finals of IPL in the year 2018 where they lost to the Chennai Super Kings in Mumbai and was the tournament’s leading scorer with a tally of 735. But Last year the team has drastically lost to Delhi Capitals in the eliminator round and ended up lasting fourth on the scoreboard.

Looking at Warner’s Captaincy, he headed the team from the year 2015 to 2017 in which he led the team towards the title win of Champions of IPL 2017. He brilliantly led the Sunrisers in 45 matches, out of which they won 26 matches with a win-loss ratio of 1.368 as compared to Williamson who led the Sunrisers to 14 wins in 26 games with a win-loss ratio of 1.272.

With Warner being the show starter and Williamson not being a captain anymore, the Sunrisers have the option of rotating their overseas players for the other three slots in the XI. They already have the star players, Jonny Bairstow, Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan in their squad and Mitchell Marsh, Fabian Allen and Billy Stanlake among the other non-Indian names. 

Let’s wait and watch whether Warner will able to lead the Sunrisers towards the glorious title of ‘Champions of IPL 2020’ after over-taking the captaincy of the team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here