2022 ICC Men’s U19 World Cup to kickoff on January 14, final to be played on February 5


2022 ICC Men’s U19 World Cup to kickoff on January 14, final to be played on February 5

2022 ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup will be all set to kick off from January 14 & will end on February 5, 2022. The tournament will see 16 teams competing in 48 matches across four host countries.

The sixteen teams which will compete include Bangladesh, England, Canada & the UAE from Group A with debutants Uganda placed in Group B along with India, South Africa & Ireland. Group C comprises Pakistan, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, PNG & Group D sees host West Indies, Australia & Sri Lanka. Scotland complete the tournament line-up in Group D after New Zealand withdrew due to the mandatory quarantine restrictions for minors while returning home.

The four host countries for the 2022 ICC Men’s U19 World Cup have been confirmed as Antigua & Barbuda, Guyana & St Kitts & Nevis & Trinidad & Tobago with 10 venues hosting the matches. According to the format top, two teams from each of the four groups will progress to the Super League stage while the remaining teams will feature in the Plate across 23 days of competition.

A Glimpse of 2022 ICC men’s U19 World Cup Schedule:

48 match schedule will start with West Indies facing Australia on January 14 followed by Sri Lanka facing Scotland in Guyana later on the same day. The league stage will be held across Guyana, St Kitts, Nevis & Trinidad & Tobago between January 14-22. The Plate stage of the competition will be hosted between January 25-31 at Trinidad & Tobago. The Superleague stage will be played in Antigua & Barbuda from January 26.

The semi-finals of the event will be played on February 1 across two-venue- Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground & Coolidge Cricket Ground on February 2. The final of the U19 World Cup will be held at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket ground. Before the beginning of the tournament, 16 warm-up matches will be palyed between January 9-22 in St Kitts & Nevis & Guayana.

West Indies have won the U-19 World Cup once in 2016 while India has won the title four times, Australia three times, Pakistan twice & England, South Africa & Bangladesh have won the title once each.

The ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley said, “The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is such an exciting & special tournament, bringing together the future stars of the game & giving them an unrivaled experience of competing on a global stage”.

“So many of the best players have competed at the U-19 Men’s cricket World Cup including Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Joe Root, & Shimron Hetmyer & we are looking ahead to the 2022 edition of the event to see who emerge as the future stars”, he added.

Let’s have a look at the U-19 Men’s Cricket World Cup groupings:

Group A- Bangladesh, England, Canada, UAE

Group B- India, Ireland, South Africa, Uganda

Group C- Afghanistan, Pakistan, PNG, Zimbabwe

Group D- Australia, Scotland, Sri Lanka, West Indies

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!









Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here