Asia Cup 2022: Schedule of the Marquee Event announced, IND vs PAK Clash on August 28


Asia Cup 2022: Schedule of the Marquee Event announced, IND vs PAK Clash on August 28

The schedule of the Asia Cup 2022 has been announced & the major highlight of the schedule is the ace India vs Pakistan clash which will take place on August 28 in Dubai. The tournament will begin with Sri Lanka facing Afghanistan in the opener clash on August 27. All the matches of the Asia Cup 2022 will be played in the UAE with 10 matches in Dubai & three in Sharjah.

The Asia Cup 2022 fixtures will be played in the T20 format as a build-up to the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Eight teams will participate in the marquee event with India, and Pakistan & the team Qualified in the Qualifying tournament forming Group A while Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh are in Group B.

The Qualifier Tournament will begin on August 20 in Oman with UAE, Kuwait, Singapore & Hing Kong competing for a place in Group A. In the first round, each team will play the other two in their group once, and the top two teams from each group will enter a Super 4 round that starts on September 3. The team entering in the Super 4 Round will place each other once,  with the top two sides qualifying for the final on September 11.

India are the Defending Champions of the Asia Cup which was last played in 2018 in an ODI format. India won the title in 2018 by beating Bangladesh in a last-ball thriller in Dubai.

The Asia Cup 2022 to be hosted in the UAE

The latest edition of Asia Cup 2022 was supposed to be held in Sri Lanka but due to the ongoing crisis in the Island Nation, the marquee event was shifted to the UAE. However, Sri Lanka will continue to be the Official host of the Asia Cup 2022. The Asia Cup will be played from August 27 to September 11.

Asia Cup 2022 Schedule:

All matches will start at 6 PM Local Time

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28 August, Dubai

India v Qualifier:  31 August, Dubai

Pakistan v Qulaifier: 2 September, Sharjah

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27 August, Dubai

Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30 August, Sharjah

Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1 September, Dubai

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3 September, Sharjah

A1 v A2: 4 September, Dubai

A1 v B1: 6 September, Dubai

A2 v B2: 7 September, Dubai

A1 v B2: 8 September, Dubai

B1 v A2: 9 September, Dubai

Final: 11 September, Dubai

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here