BPL 2022: Alzarri Joseph, Shykat Ali stars as Fortune Barishal beats Chattogram Challengers by four wickets


BPL 2022: Alzarri Josephy, Shykat Ali stars as Fortune Barishal beats Chattogram Challengers by four wickets

BPL 2022 started with a bang as Fortune Barishal outclassed Chattogram Challengers to start their campaign on a high note. Ziaur Rahman’s heroics with the bat guided Fortune Barishal over the line. His unbeaten 19 off 12 balls helepd Fortune’s to clinch the opener match by four wickets with eight balls to spare. Earlier Fortune Barishal was reduced to 92 for 6 in the 15th over chasing 126 runs.

Ziaur Rahman smashed Mukidul Islanm for 18 runs in the 17th over, hitting fours through square leg & extra cover & smashing a perfect six over cover. Dwayne Bravo too starred for Fortune Barishal by staying unbeaten on 12 off 10 balls by hitting one boundary as the duo took Barishal home.

Ziaur’s big-hitting helped Barishal to recover from the loss of three wickets in the 15th over. The Player of the Match Mehidy Hasan Miraz caught Shykat Ali at deep mid-wicket,  Irfan Sukkur lbw, and then Salman Hossain run-out, with Afif Hossain affecting a direct hit from the covers.

Earlier Chattogram Challengers reached an average of 125 for 8 thanks to Benny Howell’s 41. Alzarri Joseph took three wickets while Nayeem Hasan took two wickets for Chattogram Challengers.

Howell struck three fours & three sixes in his 20 ball knock. It was a relief for Chattogram after they were horrified by Shakib-al-Hasan’s four tight overs which yielded them just nine runs. Joseph ended with 3-32 on his BPL 2022 debut. Chattogram Challengers Captain Miraz then stepped up with his maiden four-wicket haul in T20s ending with 4 for 16 taking two of three wickets to fall in his last over.

Fortune Barishal could have winded up the game much earlier if Shakib-Al-Hasan batted longer. Instead, the Captain fell for 13 runs after smashing two boundaries. Shykat’s dismissal for 39 started the mini-collapse in the 15th over. However, Ziaur chipping in with crucial runs at the lower order helped Fortune Barishal to win the tournament opener clash by four wickets.

Brief Scores:

Fortune Barishal 126 for 6 (Shykat 39, Miraz 4-16) beat Chattogram Challengers 125 for 8 (Howell 41, Joseph 3-32) by four wickets

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here