Commonwealth Games 2022: India Women announces 15 member squad for the Marquee Event


Commonwealth Games 2022: India Women announces 15 member squad for the Marquee Event

India Women announces a 15-member squad for the upcoming Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022 in Sri Lanka. Sneh Rana, Taniya Bhatia, and Harleen Deol have been named in the announced squad while Simran Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, and Poonam Yadav, who were part of the India squad in the recently-concluded series against Sri Lanka couldn’t make it to the 15 member squad, instead, they are named as the traveling reserves.

Rana who has been named in India’s squad for commonwealth Games 2022 was earlier excluded from the Sri Lanka series while Harleen was a part of the Sri Lanka ODI & T20I series. Among the exclusions from the main squad, Richa had played just one game in the Sri Lanka scores & ended up scoring just 11 runs while Simran ended up going wicketless in two matches, conceding 34 runs in the four overs she bowled. Poonam on the other hand did not feature in a single game.

Talking about India vs Sri Lanka series, India women were successful in clinching the three-match T20I series by a 2-1 score. The win also marked India Women’s first win against West Indies since 2019. Earlier before winning the series against Sri Lanka they had lost to South Africa, England, Australia, and New Zealand.

Among the 15-member squad, ten are the members of the Harmanpreet Kaur-led squad from the Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020, in which India made it to the final before losing to World Champions Australia Women.

India Women to face Australia in the opener match of CWG 2022

India Women are grouped alongside Australia, Pakistan, and Barbados in Group A while Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand, and South Africa will feature in Group B in the eight-team tournament. The top two teams from each group will make it to the semi-final stage. India Women will face Australia Women in the tournament opener match on July 29, followed by matches against Pakistan and Barbados on July 31 and August 3 respectively.

All the matches of the Commonwealth games 2022 will be played at Edgbaston. Women’s cricket is part of the Commonwealth games 2022 for the first time.

Commonwealth Games 2022: India squad

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here