Cricket Australia named a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Cricket Australia named a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Cricket Australia named a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to be held in Oman & the UAE. National Selection Panel recalled Captain Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, David Warner, Pat Cummins & Glenn Maxwell to the squad. West Australian player Josh Inglis has also been included in the squad as the back-up to wicketkeeper Matthew Wade.

 “Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket & more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts”, George Bailey, Chair of Selectors said in an Official Statement.

While Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, Warner & Cummins return to the squad after missing tours of the West Indies & Bangladesh. Steve Smith returns after recovering from an elbow injury while Captain Aaron finch is recovering well from the knee surgery.

“We look forward to having all of these players available both from a playing perspective & the experience they bring to International tournaments”, Balley said. Cricket Australia said selectors have included four spinners such as Queenslander, Mitchell Swepson alongside Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa & Maxwell.  Swepson displayed a stellar performance with the ball in their West Indies & Bangladesh tour including his 3-26 from eight overs in the last two matches on tour.

“Mitchell has impressed with the opportunities he had”, said Bailey. “Given the amount of cricket being played at the World Cup venues, we expect the wickets in the UAE to favor slow batting, particularly in the later stages, so he gives us another strong leg-spin option”.

Fats bowler Josh Hazlewood’s stunning form on his return to the T20 team last summer followed by splendid performances in the West Indies & Bangladesh tour led to his selection in Australia’s squad to complete a lethal pace attack alongside Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc & Kane Richardson. Tasmanian Nathan Ellis, who registered a hat-trick on debut against Bangladesh, all-rounder Daniel Sams & the vastly experienced Dan Christian have been named as traveling reserves. The Squad will depart for the UAE in late September or early October.

Australia’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021:

Aaron Finch (Captain), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner & Adam Zampa.

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News & Cricket Match Score only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here