ENG vs NZ 2022: England announces 13 member squad for first two Tests of Home Series


ENG vs NZ 2022: England announces 13 member squad for first two Tests of Home Series

ENG vs NZ 2022: ECB has announced a 13-men squad for the first two Tests of their three-match Test series against New Zealand starting on June 2. As speculated, ECB have recalled James Anderson & Stuart Broad to the Test squad for the first two Tests. Both the veteran pacers were left out of England’s Test squad for their West Indies tour earlier this year after England’s dismal showing in Australia in the Ashes.

However, with the ECB making several changes to England’s Test squad by appointing Ben Stokes as their Test Captain and Brendon McCullum as the Head Coach of the Test side, the two fast bowlers have found a place again in the 13-member squad. On the other hand, several pacers including the likes of Chris Woakes, Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Mark Wood, and Saqib Mahmood are unavailable due to injuries.

Meanwhile, Yorkshire club’s Harry Brook and Durham’s Matthew Potts have earned their maiden call-ups to the Test squad. Brook has scored 758 runs already in the County Championship this season at an average of 151.60 whereas Potts is the leading wicket-taker with 35 scalps.

“This is the start of a new era for our Test team under the stewardship of Ben (Stokes) and Brendon (McCullum),” Managing Director for England Men’s Cricket, Rob Key, said.

“With a blend of youth and experience, we have selected an exciting squad that can compete with New Zealand in next month’s Test series. We have rewarded players in Harry Brook and Matty Potts who have had outstanding starts to the County season, and they deserve the opportunity to stake a claim at this level.”

The three-match home Test series against New Zealand comes under the WTC 2021-2023 cycle. The three-match Test series will begin with the first Test on June 2 at the Lord’s Cricket Stadium, followed by two more Tests in Nottingham and Leeds respectively.

ENG vs NZ 2022: Squad for the first two Tests

Ben Stokes (C), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Jack Leach, Alex Lees, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Ollie Pope, Joe Root

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here