England T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: ECB names 15-member squad for the Mega-Event

England T20 World Cup 2021 Squad: ECB names 15-member squad for the mega-Event

Cricket fans are overwhelmed in joy as ECB has announced a 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 to be held in UAE & Oman. Fast bowlers Tymal Mills and Chris Woakes have been included in the squad for the marquee event while as expected Ben Stokes hasn’t been included in the 15 member squad. Even England’s test captain Joe Root couldn’t make his way to the England T20 World Cup 2021 squad.

Though Tymal Mills last played international cricket in February 2016, he has been included to the squad on the back of some excellent performances he has displayed for Sussex County club in the T20 Blast & for Southern Brave in the recently concluded the Hundred tournament. Tom Curran Liam Dawson, James Vince are included in the squad as traveling reserves.

“Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all skills to succeed at this level,” Chris Silverwood, head coach, said. “His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave’s respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage. He will add variety to our bowling unit, and we can’t wait to see him play in a major international tournament“, Silverwood added.

England’s star pacer, Jofra Archer missed out form the squad as he is recovering from his elbow injury & couldn’t play cricket for the rest of the year. Meanwhile five fast bowlers have been included in the squad. Mills is joined by Sam Curran, David Willey, Mark Wood & Chris Jordan. Considering David Willey’s outstanding form with the ball in both ODI & T20Is, he can prove to be a boon for England’s team in the upcoming marquee event.

To add power & stability to England’s batting order the selectors have included the world’s number one ranked T20I batsman Dawid Malan into the T20 World Cup squad. Malan will be accompanied by Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow and Jason Roy. Sam Billings has been included as a back-up batsman in the squad while Liam Livingstone also made his way to the 15 member squad, thanks to his stellar performances in white ball cricket England and Birmingham Phoenix in The Hundred. Meanwhile, James Vince has been selected as one of the three reserves in England T20 World Cup 2021 Squad .

The exclusion of Ben Stokes from the 15 member squad was expected as he is on an indefinite break from cricket to take care of his mental well-being & injured finger. He has played just three ODIs, against Pakistan, & is unlikely to be a part of the Ashes 2021 squad. England’s test captain absence is neither a surprise as he hasn’t been a part of England’s white ball cricket for a while & has last played a T20I match in the summer of 2019.

Despite the spin friendly nature of pitches in the UAE, England has picked just two front-line spinners in the 15 member squad. Moeen Ali & Adil Rashid are the two spinners included in England T20 World Cup 2021 squad.

England is scheduled to play two T20Is in Pakistan on 14th & 15th October at the Rawalpindi International stadium as warm-up matches for the T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE. “We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup,” Silverwood said while announcing the squad for the T20 World Cup.

“I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world”, Silverwood added.

England T20 World Cup 2021 Squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News on ICC T20 World Cup 2021, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here