Everest Premier League: Tamim Iqbal to make a comeback with the glitzy tournament

Everest Premier League: Tamim Iqbal to make a comeback with the glitzy tournament

Bangladesh opener batsman Tamim Iqbal is all set to make a comeback to cricket with the Everest Premier League 2021. The swashbuckling opener has applied for a NOC to take part in the tournament which is slated to be held in Nepal from September 25 to October 9.

Tamim Iqbal who has made opted out of the T20 World Cup 2021 is expected to recover from his knee injury before the commencement of the Everest Premier League which is scheduled to be hosted at the Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground in Kirtipur.

 BCB Cricket Operation Chairman Akram Khan has confirmed the news to Cricbuzz & said that the decision on granting him a NOC will be taken by Wednesday. “We have received a letter from Tamim for NOC to take part in EPL. We will make a decision tomorrow (Wednesday),” said Akram. The BCB is looking forward to granting Tamim a NOC so that he could make a comeback to competitive cricket.

Tamim Iqbal will represent the Bhairahawa Gladiators franchise in the Everest Premier League & he will leave on September 24 to participate in the tournament that includes big guns like Chris Gayle, Sandeep Lamichhane, and Mohammad Shahzad among others. Tamim Iqbal will feature in competitive cricket after taking a long break to recover from the knee injury that has forced him to miss a couple of T20I series at home.

He suffered an injury to his right knee during the Bangaldesh test tour of Sri Lanka held in April-May. He participated in the home ODI series against Sri Lanka as well as the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division T20 League. However, Tamim had to quit the Dhaka Premier League midway after aggravating the injury while playing in the Dhaka Premier League & thus had missed the one-off test against Zimbabwe. However, Tamim managed to lead the team in the ODI series in Zimbabwe & later on opted out of the T20 series to went through a rehabilitation program after returning back to Bangaldesh.

Everest Premier League 2021:

Everest Premier League is a men’s domestic T20 cricket tournament hosted by Nepal. The Everest Premier League 2021 is its fourth edition since its commencement in 2016 which will be sponsored by Bajaj Pulser. The Tournament was fixed to be played from 14 March 2020 and end on 28 March 2020. But due to COVID-19 reason date was changed from September 25th, 2021 to October 9th, 2021.

A total of six teams will participate in the Everest Premier League 2021. These teams are based in different cities in Nepal. Each team consisted of 15 players while 10 players from Squad should be bought through Auction. Also, foreign players are free to take part in the EPL. At least Three Foreign players should consist in each team of EPL. Dwayne Smith, Mohammad Shahzad, Kevin O’Brien, Hasim Amla, Seekkuge Prasanna, Chris Gayle, Tamim Iqbal are some of the big guns who will participate in the EPL 2021. South Africa’s star batsman AB De Villiers is also set to make his debut in the fourth edition of the EPL.

Everest Premier League 2021 Teams:

Let’s have a look at the teams participating in the Everest Premier League 2021

  • Bhairahawa Gladiators
  • Biratnagar Warriors
  • Chitwan Tigers
  • Kathmandu Kings XI
  • Lalitpur Patriots
  • Pokhara Rhinos

The complete schedule of the Everest Premier League 2021 has not been announced yet & it is expected to be announced very soon by the organizers. All the matches of the EPL will be live telecasted at 1 Sports. EPL 2021 will be conducted under the supervision of the Cricket Association of Nepal and the prize money of the tournament will be 5 million NPR.

Catch up with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score & much more only at Cricketflicker!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here