IND vs IRE: India announces 17-member Squad for the Ireland T20Is


IND vs IRE: India announces 17-member Squad for the Ireland T20Is

IND vs IRE: The Indian National Selection Committee has announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming two-match T20I series against Ireland to be held later this month. And there comes good news & a great opportunity for India’s swashbuckling all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who has been awarded captaincy for the Ireland T20I series.

Youngster Rahul Tripathi receives a maiden call-up in the 17-member squad while RR captain Sanju Samson returns to the T20I set-up. The squad will miss the services of India’s Test regulars who will fly to England on June 16 to participate in the rescheduled fifth Test at Edgbaston.

Hardik Pandya has been elevated to vice-captaincy & is serving as Rishabh Pant’s deputy in the ongoing T20I series against South Africa after original captain KL Rahul was ruled out with a groin injury. Hardik Pandya has achieved appreciation for his leadership skills in the recently concluded IPL 2022 where he captained his side Gujarat Titans to their maiden title win in the debut season. India’s veteran pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will serve as Hardik’s deputy on their Ireland tour.

Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer & Rishabh Pant who are currently playing South Africa T20Is will miss the Ireland series as they will fly to England on June 20 along with Rahul Dravid to prepare for the fifth rescheduled Test. To fill up their place, Samson & Tripathi who had a stellar season in the IPL 2022 have been added to the Ireland T20I squad. Samson hit 374 runs at 147.24 SR and captained Rajasthan Royals to the finals of the tournament while Tripathi was one of the leading lights in an otherwise forgettable season for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, scoring 413 runs at 158.23 SR.

The Ireland series will also mark the return of India’s middle-order star Suryakumar Yadav who was ruled out of the latter stage of IPL 2022 & South Africa T20Is after sustaining a forearm muscle injury.

India will lock horns with Ireland in two-match T20I series which will be played on June 26 & 28 at Malahide. VVS Laxman will serve as the head coach on tour and will be assisted by Shitanshu Kotak (batting coach), Sairaj Bahutule (bowling coach), and Munish Bali (fielding coach).

IND vs IRE: Ireland T20I Squad

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here