IND vs SA, 1st T20I: Proteas take a 1-0 lead after defeating India by seven wickets


IND vs SA, 1st T20I: Proteas take a 1-0 lead after defeating India by seven wickets

IND vs SA, 1st T20I: The ‘Men in Blue’ has failed to make a world record for most consecutive T20I wins as they suffered a defeat at the hands of South Africa in the first T20I of the series. In the absence of KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant was handed the reins of Captaincy.

The match unfolded with South Africa winning the toss & opting to bowl first. Ishan Kishan & Ruturaj Gaikwad provided India a flying start by stitching a 57-run stand for the opening wicket. However soon their blooming partnership was soon broken when Gaikwad got dismissed after scoring 23 runs in 15 balls. But this couldn’t stop Ishan Kishan from scoring big. He went ahead to play a scintillating knock of 76 runs in 48 balls, including 11 fours and 3 sixes.

Then came Shreyas Iyer on the field who was all blazing guns by scoring 36 runs in 27 balls in the mid overs. In the end, gleaming knocks from Rishabh Pant (29 off 16) and Hardik Pandya (31 off 12) helped India to reach a mammoth 211 runs total at the end of the allotted 20 overs. For South Africa, Parnell was the pick of the bowlers as he returned with bowling figures of 1 for 32 in 4 overs.

In the chase of 212 runs, South Africa got off to a poor start as they lost early wickets & at the end of the powerplay overs the score read 61-2. The likes of Quinton de Kock (22 off 18), Temba Bavuma (10 off 8), and Dwaine Pretorius (29 off 13)  all failed to hit the straps. As a result at the end of nine overs, South Africa had lost 3 wickets for 81 runs.

Rassie Van Der Dussen did the resurrecting work for SA along with David Miller. Rassie van der Dussen was struggling to score with the bat, however, David Miller was firing at the other end. Miller’s Killer form turned the momentum of the game in South Africa’s favor. The duo continued their onslaught with the bat & brought up their 100-run stand. They smashed 22 runs in the 17th & 18th over each to take South Africa close to victory. With just four runs needed in the last six balls, Der Dussen did the job for Africa by smashing a boundary & registering a historical seven-wicket win with five balls remaining.

Miller played an unbeaten knock of 64 runs in 31 balls, while Rassie van der Dussen also remained unbeaten on 75 off 46 balls. After suffering a big defeat at the hands of South Africa, India will now hope to bounce back & level the series by winning the second T20I slated to be played on Sunday at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack.

IND vs SA, 1st T20I: Brief Scores

South Africa 212 for 3 (van der Dussen 75*, Miller 64*) beat India 211 for 4 (Kishan 76, Shreyas 36, Parnell 1-32) by seven wickets

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here