IND W vs SL W: India beats Sri Lanka in the first T20I to take a 1-0 lead


IND W vs SL W: India beats Sri Lanka in the first T20I to take a 1-0 lead

IND W vs SL W: India Women are facing Sri Lanka Women for a three-match T20I series. India Women registered a convincing victory in the first T20I match as they defeated Sri Lanka women by 34 runs. With this, they take a 1-0 lead in the series.

India Women won the toss and elected to bat first on a flat pitch at Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium in Sri Lanka. Batting first, India Women set up a decent total of 138/6 in their 20 overs. Jemimah Rodrigues (36 of 27 balls) played a crucial role at the death whereas Shefali Verma (31) and Harmanpreet Kaur (22) were other important contributors.

For Sri Lanka, Inoka Ranaweera was the pick of the bowlers as she claimed 3 wickets for 30 runs in her four overs. Other than Inoka, Oshadi Ranasinghe (2/22) and Chamari Atapattu (1/7) were the other wicket-takers.

Chasing a modest total of 137 runs, Sri Lanka Women were restricted to a mere total of 104 runs, thanks to the exemplary performance of Radha Yadav who registered a figure of 2/22 in her 4 overs. Deepti Sharma (1/9) and Shefali Verma (1/10) were other crucial bowlers for India Women.

For Sri Lanka Women, Kavisha Dilhari top-scored 47 runs and remained unbeaten. Other than Kavisha, Chamari Athapaththu (16) and Ama Kanchana (11) were the only batters who crossed the double-digit score.

The second T-20 game between the two sides is set to take place on Saturday, June 25. India Women will aim to seize the opportunity and clinch the series whereas the hosts will look for a comeback. It will be interesting to find out the winner between the two evenly matched sides.

IND W vs SL W: Brief Scores

India 138-6 in 20 overs (Jemimah Rodrigues 36*, Shafali Verma 31, Inoka Ranaweera 3-30) vs Sri Lanka (Kavisha Dilhari 46*, Chamari Athapaththu 16, Radha Yadav 2-22)

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here