India’s Nitin Menon retains his place in ICC Elite Panel of Umpires


India’s Nitin Menon retains his place in ICC Elite Panel of Umpires

Indian umpire Nitin Menon has retained his place in the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires & is all set to make his maiden appearance as a neutral umpire in Sri Lanka’s home Test series against Australia later this month. Nitin remains the only Indian umpire in ICC’s 11-member Elite Panel of Umpires. A BCCI official further said that Nitin who is India’s leading umpire for the last three to four years has received a one-year extension from the ICC.

“The ICC recently gave a one-year extension to Menon who has been our leading umpire over the last three to four years. You will also see him making his debut as a neutral umpire later this month,” the official told PTI.

Nitin Menon was included in the Elite Panel of Umpires at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, becoming the third Indian to enter the club after S Venkataraghavan and S Ravi. However, Menon was officiating International Matches only within India as the ICC was allowing local umpires due to travel restrictions in place.

With the COVID-19 situation improving across the globe, the ICC has resumed the officiating service with Australian Paul Reiffel who is currently performing duties in England’s home series against New Zealand.

On the other hand, Nitin after completing his duties in the ongoing five-match T20I series between India & South Africa will travel to Sri Lanka for two-match Test series against Australia beginning on June 29 in Galle.

Talking about the prestigious Elite Panel of Umpires, there is no change in the Panel. Along with Menon, the panel includes Aleem Dar from Pakistan, Chris Gaffaney from New Zealand, Kumara Dharmasena from Sri Lanka, Marais Erasmus from South Africa, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough (all three from England), Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker from Australia and Joel Wilson from the West Indies.

It’s the BCCI that decides upon who to include in the ICC International Panel of Umpires. Currently, four Indians are in line to get featured in the Elite Panel of Umpires including Anil Chaudhary, Virender Sharma, J Madanagopal, and K N Ananthapadmanabhan.

Stay hooked with the Latest Cricket News, Latest Cricket Match News, Live Cricket Score, Latest Cricket Match Score, Indian Cricket Team News & much more only at Cricketflicker!




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here